God Has A Plan For You


Scripture:  Jeremiah 1:

4 The word of the LORD came to me, saying,

5 "Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
       before you were born I set you apart;
       I appointed you as a prophet to the nations."

6 "Ah, Sovereign LORD," I said, "I do not know how to speak; I am too young."

7 But the LORD said to me, "Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you," declares the LORD.

Observation:  No matter what choices you’ve made in life, God is still working out a plan for you, all you have to do is be willing to follow where He leads.

Application:  I felt called into ministry at the age of seventeen and like Jeremiah I was afraid that I was too young and would not be able to carry out the calling.  I remember praying for life experience so I would be able to do the ministry God was leading me into.  That was one of those prayers that got answered in ways I never expected.  For ten years I ran from my calling and during that time life experience came in abundance for me. I made many bad choices during my running years but as I look back on it now, I know that God was still working out his plan for me.

Now I’m forty years old and even though I still make bad decisions I know that God is actively unfolding His plan in my life.  I am where I am for a reason, and although the reason is often unclear occasionally God grants me a glimpse of one of the pieces of the puzzle, just enough to confirm that things are still going as He has designed.

It’s really amazing to think that God knew about all of the events of my life, and the decisions I would make, good and bad, and that He has orchestrated it all into a beautiful plan of purpose even before I was ever born.  When God says “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,” its goes so much deeper than our knowing.  I may say to a person, “I’ve known you since you were a child and I know all about you.”  As I grow older I can say that to more and more people, but I still don’t know that person like God does.  God knows us so fully that no choice we make is a surprise to Him, no idle thought is insignificant, no tear is unnoticed by Him and no smile goes uncelebrated. 

How vast and awe inspiring is our God?  He knows us better than our parents, better than our spouse, better than we know ourselves and He delights in watching us live our our lives and fulfill our purpose.  I am convinced that no matter where we are in life, no matter what choices we have made up to the present moment, all we have to do in order to step into the meaningful purpose that God has laid out before us is surrender to Him and say, “Lord where you lead, I will follow.”

Prayer: Sovereign LORD,

You are bigger than the universe and there is no place that I can be where you are not there. Forgive me when I fail to recognize your influence in my life.  Grant to me the peace of knowing that no matter where I am, you are there with me and that your help is always available to me.

Love Michael

2 comments on “God Has A Plan For You

Leave a Reply

