Where Do You Put Your Faith?


 Scripture: John 5:

6When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, "Do you want to get well?"

7"Sir," the invalid replied, "I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred. While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me."

8Then Jesus said to him, "Get up! Pick up your mat and walk." 9At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked.

Observation:  Sometimes our faith is in the wrong place.

Application:  This miracle is one of my favorite stories in John, this man who had for thirty-eight years been trying to get healed was shown that the miracle was available to him by a simple act of faith.  Like some of Jesus’ other miracles, he never touches the man, he doesn’t really do anything other than give the man faith.  Jesus activated the lame man’s faith and urged him to just “Get up!”  Jesus knew that this man had faith, if he didn’t have faith, he wouldn’t have kept coming down to the pool and trying to get to the waters edge for so long.  He had faith, but he had put it in the wrong direction.  His faith was in the water of the pool, when instead it should have been in God.

This scripture reminds me today that God doesn’t need you to go down to the pool when the water is troubled, He doesn’t need you to send your money to someone so that they will pray for you, He doesn’t need you to make a deal with Him in order to heal, deliver, or set you free.  The only thing that really needs to happen in order for you to receive what you’ve been needing from God is for you to put your faith in Him and then act on that faith.  Arise, take up your bed and walk!  There is nothing magical in the waters of the pool, or in the collection plate, or in the altar, the magic is within you when your faith is activated and focused on God.  Where Do You Put Your Faith?

Prayer: Father,

Thank you for your grace and for the power that is to be found when I put my faith fully in you.  Help me Lord to lean on you for help in times of weakness and struggle.  Help me to trust in you when I need to be healed.  Grant me an unshakable faith and teach me to walk by it rather than by the sight of my physical eyes.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

