Finding The New Earth, or “Leaving the Buts Behind”


Scripture: Isaiah 65:

17 “See, I will create
new heavens and a new earth.
The former things will not be remembered,
nor will they come to mind.

Observation: Before we enter the new, we must leave the old behind.

Application: I believe that God wants to bring us into a place of beauty and love.  There are blessings waiting for us that we have not imagined in this new place.  Isaiah was given the promise of it, and all people of the faith who have read these words since have longed for it.  I think that it’s a place that is available for us, but we must walk away from the old and enter into the new.

The new heaven and new earth is not a physical location that you can build walls around, or mark off on a map.  It is a spiritual place that we enter through a change of the soul.   Isaiah was told of a place where life is long and full, and where communication with God is as natural as thought.  It’s a place where there is peace and love even among those who in the past were natural enemies.  The old ways are forgotten and a new normal is put into place.

Jesus showed us the way to this new place, and the way is love.  We can’t find our way by judging one another, that path is not love.  The lamb can not make the wolf become a lamb, but in the new earth they live side by side accepting each other as who they are.  The great commission is not about convincing others that they are wrong, it’s about showing love to people who need it the most.

We can talk about loving each other in our worship services and feel good about ourselves when we leave our sanctuaries; however in order to truly walk it out we have to leave our old agendas behind and commit ourselves to the task of love without any extra baggage.  I love you but… I love the sinner but…  I love my enemies but… and we put different things on the ends of those sentences, and those things diminish the original statements of love.  Jesus never said – God loves you but…

In order to enter into the new earth, we have to love one another, and leave the buts behind.  That should be a slogan that we adopt.  We could make bumper stickers and T-shirts and wrist bands that say, “Leave the Buts Behind.”  In fact – I’m starting a new movement right now and you can be one of the first to join.  It’s the “Leave the Buts Behind” movement!  You don’t have to have the T-shirt – you just have to live the slogan – don’t put restrictions on your love.  Love one another and Leave the Buts Behind.

Prayer: Lord God,

Help me to love without restriction, help me to find the true path to the new earth through the love that you have first given for me, and now to me so that I may share with others.  I thank you that there are no restrictions for your love, although I may not always do the right thing, your love never fails.  Forgive me when I fail to love as I should and grant me the strength to love even those who do not show it in return.

Love Michael

One comment on “Finding The New Earth, or “Leaving the Buts Behind”

  1. lisa says:

    Wonderful message. God Bless you all. love, lisa

Leave a Reply

