This Land Is Not Your Land


 Scripture: Isaiah 61:

7 Instead of your shame
       you will receive a double portion,
       and instead of disgrace
       you will rejoice in your inheritance.
       And so you will inherit a double portion in your land,
       and everlasting joy will be yours.

Observation:  The joy we find here in this land quickly fades, but when we get home, our joy will be everlasting.

Application: I know there is peace and joy to be had in life and I believe that with God in our heart we have even more access to those good things that make life abundant because His Spirit awakens them in us even in the face of adversity. Peace, joy, love, compassion, hope and faith are available to the children of God if we can just look beyond our circumstances and accept them.  These wonderful things are provided by God, they belong to us, they are ours.

So why aren’t we always joyful, why are we not always at peace?  I think that the message of this scripture today is that the reason we can’t hold on to those things all the time is because we’re not at home yet.  We are in a strange land.  Although we were built for fellowship with God, we are like Peter as he walked on the water toward Jesus and are constantly being distracted by the environment in which we must live.

As I write today, the words of an old hymn keep playing through my mind.

What a day that will be when my Jesus I will see, when I look upon his face, the one who saved me by his grace.  When he takes me by the hand, and leads me through the promised land. What a day, glorious day that will be.”  What A Day That Will Be

While here on this earth, the best that we can do is to focus on The Lord as we struggle through our trials and tribulations.  When we get to our true home in heaven, and we are constantly surrounded by God’s love and totally enveloped in His Spirit then our joy will be full and everlasting.

Prayer:  Dear God,

Thank you for the sure and certain promise of my heavenly home with you.  Thank you for loving me so much.  Thank you for bringing me through my darkest days.  Please forgive me when I allow the world to distract me and help me to re-focus on you.

Love Michael

4 comments on “This Land Is Not Your Land

  1. MOM says:

    EXCELLENT ENTRY !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Editor says:

    Thought provoking! I’m linking it on http://www.transparentvoices.com Christian Voices page for others to read.

Leave a Reply

