It’s Me God


Scripture: Isaiah 59:

1 Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save,
       nor his ear too dull to hear.

2 But your iniquities have separated
       you from your God;
       your sins have hidden his face from you,
       so that he will not hear.

3 For your hands are stained with blood,
       your fingers with guilt.
       Your lips have spoken falsely,
       and your tongue mutters wicked things.

Observation: We are never farther away from God than we have taken ourselves.

Application:  We had a difficult night last night.  I got angry, I yelled, I stomped around, I knocked over a chair, I got in the car and took a drive and drove too fast, not caring what lay ahead.  I made my family worry about me, I made them cry.  And now this morning, I’m sorry for the way I acted. 

This scripture speaks to me today because I look back on how I’ve felt that God is far from me for the past few weeks.  I have asked God where He was, and Why He’s not helping me, and I realize that it’s not that God has left me, It’s me who has pulled away from Him.  I have allowed my own selfishness and insecurities to separate me from God, and from those who care the most about me.

It’s up to me to pick up and move forward and do the right thing.  I look at my family and see God’s grace.  They forgive me for my outburst already, and I know that God will forgive me to.  As I look out on the morning, and breath the fresh air I can see that there is new strength for the day. 

Prayer: So now I know that it’s not you who have pulled away from me, It’s ME God who has pulled away from you.  And this morning I confess my sins before you, and ask that you push them away from me so that I may once again feel your presence and know that you are near.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

