Father Knows Best


Scripture: Isaiah 55:

9 "As the heavens are higher than the earth,
       so are my ways higher than your ways
       and my thoughts than your thoughts.

10 As the rain and the snow
       come down from heaven,
       and do not return to it
       without watering the earth
       and making it bud and flourish,
       so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,

11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
       It will not return to me empty,
       but will accomplish what I desire
       and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Observation:  I may not understand God’s plans, but I trust that He knows what He’s doing, and that His understandings are much better than mine.

Application:  Things are the way they are for a reason.  There is a purpose behind it all.  I have long felt that there are no such things as coincidences and that everything happens for a reason.  God uses all of the circumstances that we encounter in life for His good purposes and plans.  We may not understand what’s going on or why, but God knows.  And He has promised us that it is just as natural and easy for him to accomplish His purposes on earth as it is for the rain to water the ground.

As I wake up this morning it’s been raining outside.  I can walk out into the grass and my feet will be wet.  God sent the rain for the purpose of watering the earth, and all the inhabitants of the earth benefit from the fulfillment of God’s purpose for the rain.  Later the sun may come out and it to will accomplish a purpose set down by God.  It’s all just nature, and we don’t pay much attention to it, but God does.  God knows where each raindrop falls, and He knows where each ray of sunlight shines.  He has orchestrated it all for a reason, and He delights in the accomplishing of each aspect of creations purpose because it brings Him glory.

We are part of creation.  I am part of God’s creation.  Just as He sends rain on the plants and trees to help them grow, He also sends things for me to expand my mind, emotions, and spirit.  Sometimes it’s a little quick rain shower, and sometimes it’s a storm that lasts all night long.  Sometimes there may even be some heavy wind and lightning that seems to tear things up, but God knows what He’s doing…

Really what I have to do is resign myself to the truth that God is in control, He knows everything that’s going on, and not only does He know about it, He is orchestrating it all for a purpose that I may not be able to see with my limited perspective.  It’s all natural and easy for God – He knows I’m struggling, but He also knows why, and He’s watching over me.  I can trust in God – because He loves me.

Prayer:  Father,

Help me to trust in you fully.  I know that your ways are not always known to me, but that they are always what is best and right and good.  Help me Lord to lean on you, help me to rely on you, help me to know that no matter what happens you are with me.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

