Not Alone


 Scripture: Isaiah 49;

13 Sing for joy, O heavens!
      Rejoice, O earth!
      Burst into song, O mountains!
   For the Lord has comforted his people
      and will have compassion on them in their suffering.

14 Yet Jerusalem says, “The Lord has deserted us;
      the Lord has forgotten us.”

15 “Never! Can a mother forget her nursing child?
      Can she feel no love for the child she has borne?
   But even if that were possible,
      I would not forget you!
16 See, I have written your name on the palms of my hands.
      Always in my mind is a picture of Jerusalem’s walls in ruins.

Observation: Sometimes it feels like you’re all alone when you go through difficult times, but God will never forget you or leave you.

Application:   I remind myself of this – God is with me.  I’m Not Alone. No matter what’s happening in my life, God is with me.  Yet, I long for more, more presence of His Spirit, more assurance of His guiding hand.  I long for a knowledge that He is unfolding a plan for me and my family.  So I praise God for His grace, for His peace, for His comfort.  I praise Him for these things, even though I don’t see them before me at this time.  I know, I know they are there, and if I reach out and take them, they are mine.  But my strength to reach out is… fading.

This exercise, this meditation, this daily practice that is my journal which I have decided to share with the world.  I want it to lift up, encourage, give strength.  But right now I feel that I’m in a deep valley and I have nothing to give.  If I share something with you right now that I don’t feel – then I would be faking it.  But I don’t want to fake it – this is as real as it gets.  I’m down, but I’m not beaten.  I’m hurting, but I know I’ve not been forsaken nor forgotten.  I remind myself of this – God is with me.  I’m Not Alone.

“Tempted and tried, we’re oft made to wonder
Why it should be thus all the day long,
While there are others living about us,
Never molested, though in the wrong.

Farther along we’ll know all about it,
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother, live in the sunshine,
We’ll understand it all by and by.”

Farther Along
Words and Music by J.R.Baxter and W.B.Stevens
© 1937 Stamps-Baxter Music

Prayer: Dear God,

Please help me to feel you near me. Please help my family.  Please help us all.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

