Do You Think You Have It All Figured Out?


 Scripture: Isaiah 40:

28 Do you not know?
       Have you not heard?
       The LORD is the everlasting God,
       the Creator of the ends of the earth.
       He will not grow tired or weary,
       and his understanding no one can fathom.

Observation: We will not be able to fully understand God until we are united with Him in Heaven.

Application:  There are a lot of people out there in the faith community who feel that they have everything nailed down and that they are able to claim with certainty that their understanding is THE answer that everyone should accept.  Isaiah reminds us that no one can comprehend the fullness of who God is, and no one can understand his ways completely.  If you think you have it all figured out, I’m here to tell you, “Think again!” 

Not many of us would ever admit to this mindset, I think most would say, “No I still have much to learn, but I do know one thing…”  And then there would be a lot of statements of rock solid things that would follow.  If you find yourself arguing often with others of different theologies or philosophies, if you find yourself often defending your own beliefs with vigorous fervor.  You may be one who thinks you have it all figured out.

I’m not saying that you have to accept other peoples ideas if they differ greatly from your own, I think it’s important for us to hold on to the faith that God has instilled in us.  I just think we need to realize that we are not able to fully understand God and we don’t know how he relates to others.  All we can be certain of is that our experience is how God has related to us.  Because God speaks to someone else in a much different way than He does to me doesn’t make the other persons experience any less significant or real.  God doesn’t have to follow my agenda when it comes to human relations.  I don’t know how He intends to reveal himself to you, there are many different avenues in which He could manifest in your life.

Furthermore I’m not saying we shouldn’t reach out to others with our faith and share our beliefs with them (evangelism).  But as we do so we need to be loving and kind, we need to be tolerant and show respect to our fellow human beings and allow The Spirit of God to move them.  When we feel that we aren’t reaching an individual, God knows that persons heart and may be doing things that we don’t understand to bring them to a knowledge of Him.

Isaiah recognized that we can not understand as God does, but later in the New Testament we are given a great promise in 1 Cor 13:12  What we see now is like a dim image in a mirror; then we shall see face-to-face. What I know now is only partial; then it will be complete—as complete as God’s knowledge of me.  So, even though now we are not able to understand completely, its great to know that when we are with God we will.

Prayer: Father in Heaven,

Thank you for the little bit of understanding that you have blessed me with.  Help me to always remember that what I have now is only a partial picture, a dim image in a mirror, and only when I’m with you will I see the fullness of your love and mercy.  Help me to share my faith with others in a loving and compassionate way, and keep me humble and obedient to your command to love others.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

