The Purification Process


 Scripture: 1 Peter 1:

6-7I know how great this makes you feel, even though you have to put up with every kind of aggravation in the meantime. Pure gold put in the fire comes out of it proved pure; genuine faith put through this suffering comes out proved genuine. When Jesus wraps this all up, it’s your faith, not your gold, that God will have on display as evidence of his victory.

Observation:  As we go through the struggles of this life, we are becoming more and more treasured to God.

Application:  I received a forward this morning from a local minister friend of mine, it was about old barns and old people.  I have to admit that many forwards slip by me without much attention, but this particular one really stood out, and I think that seeing this scripture in my reading today confirms that God is trying to tell me something.

The e-mail talked about how a man had spotted an old barn and bought it so that he could use the wood to put on the walls of a new house he was building.  The fellow who owned the barn hadn’t noticed the beauty in the old barn, he only noticed how it was beyond its useful years, falling down, leaning, weathered and worn.  The man who bought it saw the beauty that only years of standing out in the weather, and enduring the storms could produce. 

The lesson is – we are much like old barns.   As we get older, we may seem to ourselves to be getting worse, less useful, less attractive, less desirable, but not to God – for God sees that going through the things we face in this life is making us more pure, more refined, and more useful.  To God our weathered lives and strong faith are evidence of his victory. 

Prayer: Father,

Thank you for the things I have endured in this life that have weathered me, and thank you for the things still yet to come that will take me further down the road of growth and purity that you desire for me.  Please help me to endure through it all and know that you are by my side, loving and guiding me into all things so that I might find victory in you and through you.

Love Michael

2 comments on “The Purification Process

  1. Marilyn W. says:

    This is very good.

Leave a Reply

