Predestined Free Will


Scripture: Isaiah 14:

24 The Lord of Heaven’s Armies has sworn this oath:

   “It will all happen as I have planned.
      It will be as I have decided.

Observation:  We have free will to make the choices in our lives, but God knows what we will choose, and we are predestined to follow his plan.

Application:  Free will and predestination are sometimes hard to harmonize.  I’ve been thinking about this quite a bit this week.  I got to Church today and had a totally different sermon prepared, but felt led instead to preach about this subject. 

As we go through our lives, we all make many choices.  Some choices are good and some are not so good.  But because God is able to know what choices we will make He has predestined us into a purpose of fulfilling His desires.   Since God knows all things, and because what He has planned must surely come to pass, do we really have a free choice?  If it’s predestined to happen because God knows it’s going to happen, even if we make the choice, it was a choice that had to be made because God knew it was going to take place in just that way. 

God knew that I was going to write about this subject today before I did, He knew that I would preach about it at Church before I knew it, He predestined these things because He knew they would happen, but at the same time they were my choice to make and I chose to make them.  It boggles the mind to try and separate these things. 

Perhaps that’s the problem, do we really need to separate free will and predestination?  Can one not exist in the presence of the other?  Obviously they both exist together so for God there is no problem.  It is because of our limited understand that we can’t wrap our heads around it fully.  Just because I’m not able to get all the details worked out to my own satisfaction doesn’t mean that its a problem for God.  

There are many things I don’t understand, and yet my lack of understanding doesn’t make them not so.  I should resign myself to the fact that until I am with God and am able to know as I have been known I will never be able to fit all the knowledge and understanding that I desire into my limited brain.  So it’s good to know that God has a purpose for me, and that none of the decisions that I make can take God by surprise or upset the plan that He has.  There is a comfort in knowing that I don’t have to possess all the answers, but that I serve a God who certainly does.

Prayer: Father God,

You are the creator of time and understand all my choices.  I thank you that you’ve blessed me with free will, but at the same time you have laid out before me a purpose and a plan that is perfect and that ends with me coming home to You.  Help me to make the right choices, and give me strength and mercy when I make the wrong ones.

Love Michael

Yield:  I don’t have to know everything, God has it all under control.
2 comments on “Predestined Free Will

  1. rbfproject says:

    Thanks for this post. It was very insightful! I’ve been wrestling with that problem for a while myself, and came to a similar conclusion.

  2. john pugh says:

    amen..

    I heard a guy say last week, that everyone is only 1 or 2 bad decisons from being brought down by God.

    He was speaking about Mcnair, and “do not be so quick to judge!”

    This is a very level playing field, isn’t it?

    My daughter is doing better, and thanks for your prayers.
    I did not know, when I asked for them how slowly things would move.

    Ha-Ha..but they are moving my Brother!.

    JOHN PUGH

Leave a Reply

