He Makes Me Invincible


Scripture: Psalm 73:

26 My body and my mind may become weak,
       but God is my strength.
       He is mine forever.

Observation:  Because God is my source of life, I am invincible, I can never die.

Application:  My wife and I were talking last night about how when we are younger we feel so invincible, we feel like nothing can hurt us and that we could never die.  Once we start getting older we see just how deluded we were during those younger years.  When we were young, we felt physically strong and death and bodily deterioration seemed to be so far away that it was almost unreal, like a wicked witch in a fairy tale. 

As time goes by I realize more and more that even when I felt invincible while in my early years, I was far from it.  We are all frail and our physical bodies, and lives are as fragile as a snowflake, and what little strength we have quickly melts away with time. But along with the realization of my own weakness, I have also learned to lean on God for his strength.  Although it is true that I am nothing, I am convinced that He is everything.

When I am weak, He is strong.  When my body fails, He lifts my spirit higher toward Himself, and embraces me.  Although my body may be broken, and my life in the physical snuffed out by any passing breeze, my spirit and soul are invincible because of the power and strength of my great God who is always with me and holds me in His hand.

Prayer: Father who sustains me,

Thank you for your never ending protection, thank you for sustaining my life in the physical long enough for me to experience love in such wonderful ways.  Grant me forgiveness when I fail to recognize my own weakness and when I boast of my own strength.  Help me to lean always upon your strength alone.

Love Michael

Yield:  I give up my delusions of personal strength, and lean upon the strength of The Lord.

One comment on “He Makes Me Invincible

  1. lisa says:

    oh my goodness Brother Mike, you have done it again. your words are so uplifting and true and what a blessing you are to the church. how i wish others would read what you write and know the joy that must be in your heart. may God above Bless you and your family always. lisa

Leave a Reply

