Don’t Let Anger Steal Your Peace


Scripture: Jude 1:

9-11The Archangel Michael, who went to the mat with the Devil as they fought over the body of Moses, wouldn’t have dared level him with a blasphemous curse, but said simply, "No you don’t. God will take care of you!" But these people sneer at anything they can’t understand, and by doing whatever they feel like doing—living by animal instinct only—they participate in their own destruction. I’m fed up with them! They’ve gone down Cain’s road; they’ve been sucked into Balaam’s error by greed; they’re canceled out in Korah’s rebellion.

Observation:  Fighting against a different point of view is not what God is calling us to.

Application:  Too many times in my life I’ve found myself arguing and defending my beliefs.  I would think that after all the years, and the countless times that this has happened I would have learned by now to let go of my need to be agreed with and let go of the fiery defiance I feel when someone doesn’t see things my way.  Still yet at times, under the right circumstances I find myself in heated debates, my blood pressure rising, and my brain turning to mush.

At times like that, I can’t think straight, I can’t reason, all I want to do is show someone else how wrong they are and how right I am.  But this is not what God wants of us.  Our job is not to have all of our doctrines and beliefs agreed upon by the majority.  We are called to love one another – and when I’m arguing with someone and getting upset about it, I’m not showing love, I’m not being open minded, instead I’m being selfish and acting on my basest most animal like instincts.

We are to rise above those things, “put off the old man” as Paul said, and put on the new man that is the image of Christ.  If the general of God’s army the Arch Angel Michael understood that he would be lowering himself to the level of Satan if he allowed his passions to take control, we should be able to realize that we can sin by allowing ourselves to get into heated arguments about things that we are not appointed to defend.  God isn’t calling us to be His defense attorneys, He’s calling us to be social workers out in the field of the world to spread forth His love grace and understanding.

Prayer:  Lord God,

Help me to see the other persons point of view, and if I can not accept it, allow me the strength to respect it and not argue about it.  Help me to demonstrate love in all of my communications and keep my attitude in alignment with your never ending mercy.

Love Michael

Yield:  I give up my need to be agreed with.

Leave a Reply

