A God-Filled Life Speaks Louder Than Billy Mays


Scripture: Titus 2:

1-6Your job is to speak out on the things that make for solid doctrine. Guide older men into lives of temperance, dignity, and wisdom, into healthy faith, love, and endurance. Guide older women into lives of reverence so they end up as neither gossips nor drunks, but models of goodness. By looking at them, the younger women will know how to love their husbands and children, be virtuous and pure, keep a good house, be good wives. We don’t want anyone looking down on God’s Message because of their behavior. Also, guide the young men to live disciplined lives.

Observation:  Living a God-Filled life enhances your credibility and makes you a more effective witness for Christ.

Application:  This past week we have seen several big personalities pass away, Michael Jackson, Farrah Fawcett, Ed McMahon and Billy Mays, I wish their families, friends and fans condolences.  Each of these people have been heard by countless millions, and they all had an impact on my life.  When I was in elementary school I had the famous poster of Farrah in my bedroom. In the eighth grade I learned to do the moonwalk by watching and rewinding videos of Michael Jackson.  I can still hear Ed McMahon saying “Heeeres Johnny!” and hoping to see him standing on my front porch with an oversized check from Publishers Clearing House.  I often fall asleep with the T.V. on and I don’t know how many nights Billy Mays has woke me up with his exuberant descriptions of various products.

As I think about how many people they reached and how effective they were at capturing our attention I have to ask myself, how can I be more effective at getting peoples attention on spiritual matters.  How can I reach people for God in a powerful way like this?  I’m sure that I can’t make a poster like Farrah, I can’t dance or sing like Michael, I don’t have the oversized checks to pass around like Ed, and I’ll never be the salesman that Billy was.  But one thing I can do is try to live my life in a godly manner so that my witness of Christ is strengthened and the good news gospel is spread in a way that doesn’t add to the negativity that seems so prevalent in our society when it comes to the message of the church.

There are many people who are striking out against the Christian community and the message of grace that we are commissioned to teach. Any opportunity to point out our shortcomings is used to weaken that message.  I’ve seen so many good ministries destroyed by the uncovering of ungodliness in the messenger, that I can’t count them all.  From where I stand I know that we are all just imperfect people, but those who oppose the church are eager to use any imperfections that can be found, to crush the message.

It falls upon the church then to be even more diligent in our efforts of being more Christ like and walking the walk when we talk the talk.  We are to live in love for one another, and submission to God.  We are to be temperate and kind, not self-indulgent, of good reputation and above all merciful and forgiving.  When we lash out in judgment, (because we know that we are far from perfect) we can expect that judgmental attitude to come back to us in full measure.

It’s only by living a God-Filled life, a life of love and compassion for all that we can strengthen the message that we preach to the world.  The message of forgiveness, grace and mercy is a message for the world.  We can preach to the choir all day long, but it won’t expand the church and win more souls.  We have to reach out! 

We could learn a lot from Billy Mays, we should be excited to share the love of God with anyone who will listen, and if they aren’t listening, SPEAK LOUDER by living your life as an exuberant example of God’s love. 

Maybe the church could adopt some of Mays’ catch phrases and apply them to our message of eternal life.

This life can be abundantly blessed by living for God “But Wait!  There’s More!!” because there is a life beyond this one and it can be one filled with unspeakable joy!  But you have to act NOW, this is a limited time offer! Don’t delay, the age of grace is coming to an end.  People of God are standing by to pray with you! The next ten people to ask Jesus into their hearts will receive the FREE GIFT of eternal life, forgiveness of sins, fellowship with God and peace within that the world can never offer.

Prayer:  Father God,

Help me to live a life of godliness which strengthens the message of your grace and mercy.  Grant me the ability to put aside self-indulgence and take upon myself the task of living for you.  Help me to shine forth your love to the world who needs you and forgive me when I fall short of how I should live.

Love Michael

Yield:  I surrender my self indulgence and take up the task of living a God-Filled life.

One comment on “A God-Filled Life Speaks Louder Than Billy Mays

  1. lisa says:

    that is great Brother Mike. i love your little phrases that you used in your message. try it in a sermon one Sunday and lets see what kind of response you get. i bet it would be great! keep up the wonderful work. God Bless ya’ll always. lisa

Leave a Reply

