Love Hurts


Scripture: 2 Timothy 3:

12 In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, 13 while evildoers and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.

Observation:  Living a life of love makes you vulnerable to those with an agenda, but this is what we are called to do; it’s not the easy way.

Application:  As the Christian Church walks in surrender to God and love for one another we are constantly exposed  to the deceptive practices of those who have not found the spirit of The Lord within them.  The natural response to persecution is to counterattack, to rise up in an onslaught of revolutionary zeal, fighting for the cause of God.  But we have to remember that the natural response is often the wrong course of action for those who follow Christ.

We have to remember that we are sheep.  And we have a Shepherd who loves us.  He knows the things we are facing and will be with us no matter what we are going through.  When the wolves attack, the sheep don’t fight back, rather, they are dependent upon the protection of the Shepherd. 

I am not saying that we should live as the wolves do, actually the contrary is my point, we are not wolves and we need to understand that the destruction or driving away of the wolves is not our job.  Our greatest command is one of love.  Love God, and Love one another.  How can there be hatred (even of the wolves) where love abounds? 

Prayer: God of Love,

Help me to be dependent upon you for my protection, and keep me in the green pastures where Your Spirit fills my heart and my life.  When I experience persecution, remind me that it is to be expected in this world but that you have overcome the world. Grant me forgiveness in my heart for the wolves that attack, and comfort me with your protection.

Love Michael

Yield:  I surrender my fight against the persecutions I face.

Leave a Reply

