It’s Good To Live In The Age Of Grace


Scripture: 2 Kings 10:

10 Know, then, that not a word the LORD has spoken against the house of Ahab will fail. The LORD has done what he announced through his servant Elijah.” 11 So Jehu killed everyone in Jezreel who remained of the house of Ahab, as well as all his chief men, his close friends and his priests, leaving him no survivor.

Observation: The wages of sin is death.

Application: As I make my journey through the bloodiest parts of the Old Testament I am reminded how often entire groups of people are wiped out completely on command of The Lord.  I start to think, God has really changed from that time to this.  God doesn’t want us to wipe out each other like He used to right?  So what has changed about God?  Then I start thinking about how the scripture says that God doesn’t change Mal 3:6  For I am the LORD, I change not; but things are much different now than they were in the Old Testament aren’t they?  This brings me to remember that although God is loving, He is also unbiased.  It is a scriptural fact that there is no remission of sin without the shedding of blood.

Heb 9:22  And almost all things are by the law purged with blood; and without shedding of blood is no remission.

It is evident that sin still fills our lives and our world, so why is it that God isn’t still wiping out large groups of us because of our sin?

The answer is that we are living in the age of grace because of the atoning work of Jesus Christ on the cross.  It is because of God’s great love for us that He sent His Son Jesus to pay the price that must be paid.  Because Jesus is in fact God with us, Immanuel, He became the one worthy sacrifice that was capable of paying for the sins of the entire world.  God still requires punishment for sin, there is still a heavy price to be paid for irreverence and disobedience, but the Gospel tells us that the price is paid already if we will accept Jesus as Lord and Savior.

That which is played out in the physical in the Old Testament, is fulfilled in the spiritual in the New Testament.  We are now in an age of grace because of Christ.  The choice is now do we accept Jesus and live a life with God, or do we reject what God has done for us through Him and suffer a spiritual death and eternal separation from God.

The choice is easy, God loves you enough that He Himself has provided a way for you, in spite of your sinful nature, to be able to be with Him, and for Him to be with you.  To be apart from God is spiritual death, to be with Him is eternal life.  I choose life, I choose Jesus.

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

I thank you that you sent your Son Jesus to pay the price for my soul.  I ask that you forgive me and cleanse me in His blood which he willingly shed on the cross as atonement for my sin. I accept His sacrifice, Your sacrifice as my own and pray that you will help me lead a life in service to you always.  Thank you for the age of grace, and for your great love and mercy.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender my life to God.

If you prayed that prayer with me for the first time, or perhaps you’ve prayed a prayer like this before but you didn’t really understand, or you didn’t really mean it, and today you’ve made a real decision to live your life as one that has been purchased by God, I encourage you to let someone know.  Find a local Church and learn more about life as a Christian and get involved in groups of like-minded people who will encourage you and build you up.  You may E-mail me at Michael@RevLed.com or post a comment here if you would like me to pray for you.

God Bless You!

Leave a Reply

