This Battle Is Not Yours


 Scripture: 2 Chronicles 20:

15 He said: "Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the LORD says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s. 16 Tomorrow march down against them. They will be climbing up by the Pass of Ziz, and you will find them at the end of the gorge in the Desert of Jeruel. 17 You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the LORD will give you, Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the LORD will be with you.’ "

Observation: When we’ve given something over to God, the battle is no longer ours.

Application:  Jesus promised us that he would not leave us, His Spirit, The Comforter is with us, and will be with us even unto the end of the world.  There have been many times in my life that I’ve faced a struggle which was for me too great and I have been faithful to turn them over to God.  I come to His altar of Grace and say “Here Lord, I can’t win this fight, I give it to you, I turn it over to you.”  But then when I stand up, I pick the burden that I’ve laid down before God up again and continue to carry it as best as I can.

And then I wonder, “Lord, why do I still have this burden, why have you not taken it from me?”  And the answer to that question is that I haven’t truly given it over to God.  I may have prayed for Him to take it, but then I’ve picked it up again and continued to fight it on my own. 

When we’ve truly given something over to God, we should expect a victory and leave the burden with Him.  We shouldn’t pick it back up and continue to worry about it or fight against it.  God will take up the battle for us if we really surrender it over to Him. 

Take up your positions Christians; stand firm and see the deliverance that the Lord will give you.  Praise Him for the victory even before you see the evidence of it, and have faith that God will do as He has promised.  He is with you, and His will for you is one of abundance and victory.

Prayer:  Jehovah-Nissi  – My banner of completed victory,

I thank you for taking over the battles that I am too weak to win.  I ask you to increase my faith and grant me the strength to turn it completely over to you and to rely upon you with all my heart.  Let me not continue to carry the burdens that I hand over to you, but rather let me praise you for the victories that are coming to me.

Love Michael

Yield:  I surrender my battles to God.

Leave a Reply

