Prayer and Thanks For Kings


Scripture: 1 Timothy 2

1 I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone— 2 for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. 3 This is good, and pleases God our Savior, 4 who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

Observation: We are to be in prayer for and be thankful for those in authority.

Application:   We have a new President this year and the election was a very exciting thing for me to watch.  Either way the election went we were going to have a precedent setting and first time ever sort of outcome. 

Any time we have a change there are always those who feel that the wrong choice was made and they voice their opinions about it in sometimes very blatant ways.  I don’t know if its actually a lot worse this election or if I’m just noticing it more because I have more contacts in my E-mail and I keep up with the world pulse, via the internet, a little better than I ever have before but I feel totally inundated with negativity concerning our leadership in Washington.

For the most part, I don’t like to pick sides when it comes to political matters, and this is in not a political blog.  But this scripture reminds me that no matter how we feel about those who are in political authority over us, we are still expected to pray for them and also be thankful for them.  A hard thing to do if you are fervently against a politicians views I know, but as Christians we are often called to pour out upon the world the not-so-easy kind of love, forgiveness, understanding and grace that we have ourselves received.

Prayer: Father and Ruler of the Universe,

I thank you for our leaders and government officials.  May they be filled with your love, grace and mercy.  May your wisdom guide their decisions and may your Spirit fill their hearts.  Forgive me Lord when I fail to be as loving, forgiving, and prayerful for others as i should be; keep me focused on your peace and on the desire of your heart that all should come to a saving knowledge of you through Jesus Christ Our Lord.

Love Michael

Yield:  I give up my hurt feelings when politicians don’t act as I think they should, and surrender to continued prayer for them.

Leave a Reply

