What Kind of Clothes Are You Wearing?


 Scripture: Colossians 3:

12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

Observation: We have to PUT ON the attributes of Christ, we have to actively engage ourselves in demonstrating love.

Application:   Paul admonishes the Colossians to clothe themselves with the great attributes listed above, and he says “over all these virtues put on love,” these are the things we are to wear as Christians.  And what a glorious outfit it makes, all the things listed are benevolent and good, they radiate of God’s grace and love, but we have to PUT THEM ON

In other words, it may not be something that is ingrained within you.  It may not be part of your natural self to walk around always showing compassion and kindness, you may not naturally be humble and gentle and patient, but these are things we can PUT ON.  These are things we can do, but its a choice that we make. 

Every morning when we wake up, we can choose what kind of virtues we are going to wear that day.  Children of The Most High God have more options than the world offers.  We have peace that is beyond the worlds comprehension, we have a love that goes beyond the physical realms capacity for understanding, we have all of the things listed in our scripture above available to us every day.  But we must choose to put them on, to clothe ourselves in those virtues.  If we desire, (and many times we do this) we can wear our old clothes, the clothes we wore before we knew the grace of God, we can pick up the old heavy clothing of bitterness and despair, depression and selfishness, or we can wear our new clothes that are much brighter, and cleaner, and liberating.  It’s a choice we make, and an attitude that we put on every day.

What are you wearing today?

Prayer: Father,

Help me to clothe myself in your love, grace, mercy and compassion.  Help me to serve you through my fellow human beings today.  Help me to demonstrate your power in my life and in my heart.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up my old clothes.

2 comments on “What Kind of Clothes Are You Wearing?

  1. Sarah Johnson says:

    Thank you Pastor for this blessing today. I have been struggling with anger and resentment toward my older sister. We had a very heated argument three weeks ago and have not spoken since. I don’t know if I am too angry, hurt or stuburn to call her or if I just don’t know how or what to say. I do miss and love her ,I truly want to fix what has broken our entire family. Please pray for me, that the Lord will soften my heart and give me the right words to heal some very,very deep wounds.

    • Sarah,

      May the love of God wrap around you and your sister. May his peace flood your heart with understanding and patience. I join you in faith that God will manifest himself in this situation and that his grace and mercy will purify your relationship.

      Blessings!

Leave a Reply

