There Is No Need To Fear, When God Is Near


 Scripture:  1 Kings 19:

3 Elijah was afraid and ran for his life. When he came to Beersheba in Judah, he left his servant there, 4 while he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness. He came to a broom bush, sat down under it and prayed that he might die. "I have had enough, LORD," he said. "Take my life; I am no better than my ancestors." 5 Then he lay down under the tree and fell asleep.

    All at once an angel touched him and said, "Get up and eat." 6 He looked around, and there by his head was some bread baked over hot coals, and a jar of water. He ate and drank and then lay down again.

7 The angel of the LORD came back a second time and touched him and said, "Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you." 8 So he got up and ate and drank. Strengthened by that food, he traveled forty days and forty nights until he reached Horeb, the mountain of God. 9 There he went into a cave and spent the night.

Observation:  If you’re following Gods purpose, you have no need to fear.

Application:   Elijah was afraid – I can understand that.  He had just killed four hundred and fifty prophets of Baal that were very dear to the evil queen Jezebel and she was coming after him, promising that she would do the same to him as he had done to the prophets of Baal.  But God had shown that He was with Elijah at the altar where the fire came down and consumed the sacrifice, and He was not about to leave Elijah now.

I don’t know about you, but I can relate to Elijah here.  There have been times in my life when I felt afraid of the calling that God had placed in my heart.  I have even run from my calling before.  And like Elijah, I have been sustained and strengthened in my fear.  God did not punish me for it, but He did bring me through it and put my feet back on the same path as I had been on before. 

I can’t help but wonder sometimes what might have been if I had not allowed my fears to slow me down.  And I wonder about what might have been with Elijah as well.  But it does no good to wonder about these things now, all we can do is go forward and know that God is with us, and has never left us.  God understands that we are weak, and afraid, and He is able to lift us up and strengthen us again. 

I think that sometimes, even in the face of overwhelming personal evidence, we still have to convince ourselves of what God is calling us to do.  It’s a good metaphor for us I guess; we have to get away to the cave before we can hear the still small voice, which has really been there all along.

Prayer:  Father,

Thank you for your patience with me.  Even though I don’t always follow your will as I should, or as quickly as I should, you never leave me, and you strengthen me in my weakness.  Thank you – I Praise you!  Please speak to me when I’m in my caves.

Love Michael

Yielld:  I surrender my fears

Leave a comment