God Within You


Scripture:  Colossians 1:

24 Now I rejoice in what I am suffering for you, and I fill up in my flesh what is still lacking in regard to Christ’s afflictions, for the sake of his body, which is the church. 25 I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness— 26 the mystery that has been kept hidden for ages and generations, but is now disclosed to the Lord’s people. 27 To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.

Observation: As we are connected to Christ, we are connected to God, if Christ is IN you, God is also within.

Application:  What is this great mystery that Paul spoke of?  It is that Christ is IN you.  Many are not able to understand or accept that God is not just somewhere out there in a big control room looking down on us, but rather He is with us, and so connected to us that we can not exist without Him.  We who are part of the Church are part of what Paul called “The Body of Christ” and we can not be separated from God.  That term “Body of Christ” is a parable really, an illustration using a physical metaphor to describe a spiritual reality.  We are part of God, and God is within us. 

Because of this, we are all loved by God and we are all connected to each other.  One of the biggest problems with the modern Church is the way we want to exclude each other.  If someone doesn’t believe as we do we want to separate them from us and say they are wrong and not part of the true Church. But we can not cast off a foot, and say it is less valuable than the hand, we can’t pluck out an eye and say it is less useful than an ear, we are all part of the Body. 

The Almighty is not only the God of my denomination, or my set of values, or my beliefs, He is the God of ALL.  God is everywhere, he sees everyone, and loves us all, despite our problems and ignorance of His true nature.  You may run from God (like Jonah tried to do) but you can never hide from Him, for there is not a place in creation that He is not present, there is no spot where He can not see, and there is no heart that He can not speak to if we incline our ear and listen.

Prayer: God of all creation,

Help me as a part of your body to serve you with gladness and in unity with the whole of who you are.  Thank you for loving me enough to be within me.  Keep me steadfast in my desire to understand the depth of your wisdom and love, and guide me into the knowledge of who I am to be IN you.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender my search for God way out there, and take up the knowledge that He is within.

2 comments on “God Within You

  1. lisa says:

    Amen, i am so glad to hear you say that God is not the God of just one or the other denomination but is the God of all. How i wish that i could get that through some people’s heads! Praise be to God Almighty and Jesus Christ our beloved Savior.

Leave a Reply

