God Won’t Leave You Hanging


Scripture: Philippians 1:

6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Observation:  What the Lord brings you to, He will certainly bring you through.

Application:  Sometimes I feel ill-equipped to do what I’ve been sent to do.  I feel like a nomad, wandering in the wilderness, not really having a home, just going around and waiting to be led into the promised land.  And who am I?  Not anything above anyone else that’s for sure.  A regular person who has faults and weakness, a person whose faith is sometimes strong, and at other times smaller even than a mustard seed.

The only reason I am where I am is because a long time ago I said to God, “Lord do what you want, and lead me where you want me to go, and I’ll try my best to follow.”  That’s it, not really that big of a deal, and all I’ve done is tried to follow to the best of my ability.  Sometimes I wonder if I’m still on the right path, and then God will send some kind of confirmation that reminds me that He knows where I am, as well as where I’m going.

But it still doesn’t keep me from thinking, “Lord do you really want ME here?”  I mean I’m just not sure that I would put ME here.  That thought simultaneously makes me want to laugh and cry. 

This scripture is a comfort for me today because as I look at it I am reminded that He who began this work for me, will help me carry it on to completion.  And it may not turn out the way that most people would imagine or want, but it will turn out in the end the way that God meant for it to all along.  I can be confident that even though I feel inept, God knows what He’s doing and I don’t have to worry.

We’ve been having VBS at Church this week and the simple messages we’ve been teaching to the children are valuable for everyone I think, especially for me as I think about this scripture today.

God is with us.

God is Powerful.

God keeps His promises.

God gives us life.

Prayer: Father God,

I know you will never leave me alone.  I know that you are in control of my destiny.  I know that where I am weak, you are strong.  I know that you are leading me through a journey that you have prepared for me.

Help me to never doubt these things.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender my poor self-worth.

2 comments on “God Won’t Leave You Hanging

  1. lisa says:

    Brother Mike, you and your family have certainly been a blessing for Randall and myself as well as the rest of our family. You do a wonderful job of preaching and teaching and try as hard as anyone that i know to do the right thing. Hang in there because God is with you, there is no doubt in my mind. Remember, you work for the Greatest King on earth and no one can take that from you. In Christian love, randall and lisa

Leave a Reply

