Waiter – There’s a Fly in My Soup!!


Scripture: Song of Solomon 2:

15 Catch for us the foxes,
       the little foxes
       that ruin the vineyards,
       our vineyards that are in bloom.

Observation:  Seemingly small and insignificant things can ruin something great.

Application:  How many flies would it take to ruin a whole bowl of soup?  What if it was a very extraordinary bowl of soup, I mean way beyond your normal everyday kind of soup, what if this was a special recipe and the supply was limited?  Still just one fly?  Yeah, me to I think.

But you know, if it was a bowl of soup that I was really proud of, maybe one I had made myself and I had taken a lot of time and effort, and invested in the freshest ingredients and chopped all the vegetables, and watched over it as it cooked, if that were the case, I might take some extra precautions with it.  I might cover it with a towel just to be certain that no fly could find it, or I might seal it over with some plastic wrap.  I might even go so far as to put it in a container with a lid and then cover it with one of those fancy silver domes that you see in the really nice restaurants on TV.  In other words, I would do all I could to protect it so that it was enjoyed to its fullest and the hard work and the beauty of it and the taste would not be lost or forgotten.

The verse above is a small snippet from a conversation between two lovers, and the vineyards are a metaphor for their love.  The little foxes are those things that can weed into a relationship and choke it out and destroy it.  Selfishness, jealousy, indifference, unfaithfulness, all of these and many more things can be little foxes in relationships and we need to keep them away or they will ruin them.

The same goes for faith, there can be little foxes in our vineyard of faith as well.  Many of the same things that can ruin a relationship in the physical, can also ruin our relationship with God.  We have to beware, and BE Aware of those little foxes that try to hinder our faith. 

It boils down to this.  Be cautious about the little issues that pop up in relationships and in your faith.  Don’t look at them and say, oh its no big deal, its just a little thing.  Remember, how many flies does it take to ruin your soup?

Prayer: Father,

Help me to be vigilant about the little issues of life, so that I don’t overlook things that may snowball into larger issues.  Help me to deal with things as I need to and not put them off for another time.  Forgive me when I fail to see the small problems, and help me to keep a vigilant watch over my relationships with those special people you have placed in my life, my friends, my family, my wife, and my children.  And most of all Father, help me to keep my relationship with you healthy and strong and keep my eyes steadfast in watching for the flies in the soup, and the foxes in the vineyards.

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

