God Will Work It All Out


 Scripture: Ephesians 1:

11 In him we were also chosen, [e] having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, 12 in order that we, who were the first to put our hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory. 13 And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.

Observation: God is working everything in my life out so that the purpose for which I was born will be accomplished.

Application: It’s easy to fall into a rut and feel as though nothing you’re doing is making any progress toward your goals.  I often feel this way myself.  I get to thinking about where I am in my life, where I could be going, what I should be doing, and so on, and this leads me sometimes into a feeling of hopelessness and despair, because there have been many opportunities that I’ve had which I never took advantage of.  I think of where I could have been if only I had gone through more schooling, or pursued a little different road at some turning point in my life and it all snowballs into a feeling that I haven’t done everything I should have, or that I could have done things better. 

The problem with this kind of thinking is that its centered on myself and my own abilities and desires.  As I ponder those thoughts I am wallowing in self-pity and not seeing the full picture of who I am.  I am a Child of the King!  I am a Child of the Most High God, I am a co-heir with Christ Jesus and have been adopted into the royal family of Heaven.  So I need not reflect on the things of the past, the choices that I may have made differently that would have brought me down another road, because God is on my side, He is watching out for me and working out all the circumstances of my life to bring me to a place and time where His purposes and will for me will be accomplished.

There are no Coincidences, God is in control, I am where God wants me to be right now.  I may not understand it all, but I am only looking at things with the eyes of a human being, and He can see the whole picture and knows what is best for me now.  I belong to Him, I am His possession and His desires for my life are good, and they will be accomplished. 

Prayer: Father,

Help me to rely on you alone and know that you are in control of my life and that you will bring me through all things into a place of abundance, joy, and eternal fellowship with you.  Let my heart rejoice for you are the one who drives my life, and places me where I need to be.  Keep my feet on the path you provide dear God, and help me when I’ve stumbled to get back to where I need to be.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up the drivers seat.

2 comments on “God Will Work It All Out

  1. dogearedpreacher says:

    Additionally, whenever we are lamenting over the things that “might have been,” we are wasting energy that could better be used on what could be through the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

