How’s Your Karma Dude?


Scripture: Proverbs 26: 

27 If anyone digs a pit, they themselves will fall into it;
       if anyone rolls a stone, it will roll back on them.

 

Observation: The things you do, come back to you.

Application: Karma is usually not talked about much by Christians, I know its primarily claimed by Buddhist and Hindu religions and deals heavily with reincarnation.  But I think that there are some elements of the concept within our own theology as well.  The concept of my observation shows up many times in the Bible; the things you do, come back to you. Our scripture this morning is only one example, and these words have been attributed to King Solomon who the scriptures confirm as the wisest person ever to live with the exception of Christ.

Here are a couple more very good examples;

Mat 5:44  But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you; 45  That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. 46  For if ye love them which love you, what reward have ye?…

Gal 6:7  Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

We are not all as different as we think we are. What we shun today, we may become tomorrow.  We need to (myself included as always) be careful who we judge, who we mock, who we slander, and who we fight against. It would be better for us all if we could avoid these things all together.  It may be that we are much more connected to each other than we have ever realized before.

Prayer: God of All of Us,

Help me to love my fellow human beings as you love us all.  Help me to forgive, and to lift up, to comfort and bring joy.  Help me to sow good things in my life so that I may reap good things.  Keep my heart focused on you, and my mind ever reaching for a greater understanding of your love.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender preconceived judgments against others of differing theologies.

2 comments on “How’s Your Karma Dude?

  1. dogearedpreacher says:

    Nice piece. The love we share with God and others is all wrapped up with the love we receive.

Leave a Reply

