The Guide of Your Faith


Scripture: Proverbs 16:

 1 To man belong the plans of the heart,
       but from the LORD comes the reply of the tongue.

 2 All a man’s ways seem innocent to him,
       but motives are weighed by the LORD.

 3 Commit to the LORD whatever you do,
       and your plans will succeed.

Observation: If we live always with God in mind, we will make the right choices and God will aid us in our success.

Application:  All of the bad decisions that I’ve made in my life rest completely on my own shoulders.  I can not blame anyone but myself for the wrong turns I’ve taken, the responsibility of my actions belongs to me alone.  All of the good decisions that I’ve made in my life I can not take credit for because they were made in prayerful consideration, with advice and guidance from God’s Word, His Spirit, and His people.  When we take time to listen for God’s guidance we are able to make the right choices, when we go off on our own through our own wisdom, we can get ourselves in some very sticky situations.

All of the bad decisions I have ever made seemed to me at the time to be good wise and prudent, but often my will and motives didn’t line up with God.  Had I taken the extra time I needed to seek His wisdom I’m sure I would have avoided a lot of pain. 

It is so great to serve a God who will work with me through these bad decisions and choices that I’ve made and make them work out in the end.  But I am convinced that the more we commit ourselves to God, to seeking knowledge from His word, and guidance from His spirit, the smoother our lives will be.  It doesn’t mean we will avoid every obstacle, because many things we face I believe are there for our own growth, but it does mean that we can avoid unwise mistakes that cause us undue suffering.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, Counselor and Guide,

Help me to seek your wisdom in the important decisions that I make in my life.  Let me not set my hand to any great undertaking without first asking for your aid and assistance.  Keep me on the paths that you desire for me and help me to serve you in all that I do.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender the burden of making difficult choices on my own.  I have a great and glorious Guide who has promised to help me in all my times of need.

Leave a Reply

