In Whom Do You Put Your Trust?


Scripture: Proverbs 3:

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;

6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Observation: Sometimes I convince myself that what I want, is where God is leading me, but really I’m justifying my own desires rather than listening for God’s true guidance.

Application: As we are educated and taught to think in the secular world, we are trained to be logical thinkers, we are directed to reason things out in our minds and make a calculated decision based on the most likely results.  And this kind of thinking gets us by in the world doesn’t it?  It makes us viable members of society, logical and sensible in our decisions.  It makes us feel good when we’re able to make a good choice based on our own understanding.

But as God’s people, the logical choice according to our own understanding is often wrong.  We are to listen to God and trust in Him with our whole hearts.  This means going to God in prayer, and not just talking the whole time, but truly listening for God’s answer within.  How often do you pray without saying anything?  Try it sometime, if you’re seeking wisdom in anything, ask God for that wisdom, then shut up!  Listen, remain quiet, stay still, and try to hear what God is saying to you.

It’s easy to say, “I’m sure that God wants what’s best for me, so this logical choice that I’ve made is surely what God wants.”  But by doing that without prayerful consideration we are leaning on our own understanding, and putting God on the backside of our own plans, rather than following His lead.

The Holy Scripture is another way to receive that wisdom and guidance from The Father.  He will speak to you if you ask Him to through the scriptures.  Say a prayer, ask for guidance then open you Bible anywhere, and start reading, thumb through the pages, don’t follow any particular pattern, read and pray for understanding and God will give it to you through His Spirit and His Word.

If your Faith is truly in God – then seek God’s guidance and listen for the answer.  You may have to take a little more time with the answer, it may not happen in the amount of time it takes to microwave a burrito, but the wisdom of God is worth the extra time and the extra effort.

Prayer: Father of us All,

I ask that you grant me the patience and wisdom to seek your guidance above my own understanding.  Forgive me for taking my own plans, and calling them your will without truly hearing from you.  Keep my feet firmly planted in your word, and in relationship with you and guide me into the paths you would have me go.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up calling my desires and plans, God’s will.

Leave a Reply

