Getting God’s Attention


Scripture: 2 Chronicles 7

14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

Observation: God has told us how to get His attention, and how to live in His favor.

Application:  Our nation has been going through a downward spiral for a very long time now.  It didn’t start with the newly elected president, nor the last administration and I can’t say that I can put my finger on a specific time.  I don’t pretend to be a political analyst by any means, and this is not intended to be a political statement.  Rather, I am simply trying to make an observation about our spiritual health as a country and as a people.

Throughout the entire course of my life I have been witness to the decline of Christian values.  I saw it in the schools I went to, I have seen it on T.V. and in all forms of media.  It’s very evident on the internet that we are not a Christian nation.  At one time we were a nation of mostly Christian values and beliefs, but not today.

In our scripture this morning, God is giving Israel a recipe for success for them to follow after they have failed and incurred His wrath.  He gives them the way to get His attention and have Him respond to their prayers.  It’s a plan that I believe God will still honor today, whether it is from our individual lives, from our families, our communities, or our nation.

First we must humble ourselves.  We must understand that we can’t do it alone, we are not gods unto ourselves, we have to see that GOD IS GOD, and we are not. 

We must Pray!  Prayer doesn’t bring God closer to us, He is already closer than we realize, but honest prayer brings us closer to God.  It’s a change within that we need, a change of our own ways and our own understanding.

We have to seek God. I’ve heard all my life that in times past the Churches were full, but today almost without exception the small community Churches sit more than half empty even on special occasions.  How do we seek God? Try seeking God among His people, go to Church on Sunday morning and see if you can find some people of God. 

We must turn from our wicked ways.  Repentance is not just about being sorry for what we’ve done, its a change in direction, a turning away from the darkness and toward the light.  We have to stop living for the Devil, and start living for The Creator.

IF we do these things God promises that He will hear from Heaven, forgive our sins, and heal our land.  If we don’t do them, God will allow us to continue to follow our own ways all the way to destruction.  It’s a choice we have to make as individuals first, then it spreads, and eventually the whole nation must rise with one voice and make a stand.

Prayer: Creator God, Almighty Jehovah

Thank you for your patience with me as a person, and with us America as a nation.  Your wrath has been deserved, but your mercy has been received. Grant the wisdom within us to follow you, to seek after you, to pray, and repent and be humble before you.  Hear our prayers, and heal our land. 

Love Michael

Leave a Reply

