Creation Shouts His Name


Scripture: Psalm 97

 

1 The LORD reigns, let the earth be glad;
       let the distant shores rejoice.

2 Clouds and thick darkness surround him;
       righteousness and justice are the foundation of his throne.

3 Fire goes before him
       and consumes his foes on every side.

4 His lightning lights up the world;
       the earth sees and trembles.

5 The mountains melt like wax before the LORD,
       before the Lord of all the earth.

6 The heavens proclaim his righteousness,
       and all peoples see his glory.

Observation: Creation itself is a reflection of God’s glory.

Application: We can see God’s glory in the little things around us if we look for it.  If you have ever watched a beautiful sunset or sunrise, you’ve witnessed a small piece of His artwork and it is there for you to enjoy and so that you may reflect on his love for you.  In the Gospel of Thomas, one of the Gnostic texts

v 77: Jesus said, "It is I who am the light which is above them all. It is I who am the All. From Me did the All come forth, and unto Me did the All extend. Split a piece of wood, and I am there. Lift up the stone, and you will find Me there."

In Luk 19:40  And he answered and said unto them, I tell you that, if these should hold their peace, the stones would immediately cry out.

God is all around us, and his glory is proclaimed by all of creation.  We can not be anywhere that the glory of God’s is not.  I’ve been in some places that you would not think of as proclaiming His glory, but even in those places we might think of as bad, if we look through our spiritual eyes we can see His handy work.  

We are too busy to notice that God is all around us, closer to us than the clothes we wear, or the air we breath.  We go about our busy days without thinking that He is the very essence of life.  Yet, our lack of attention to these things, does not negate the reality of God’s glory and presence within them. 

I challenge you today to take notice of God in a place that you normally are not looking for Him.  See God in the trees, in the breeze, in the sunshine, in the rocks.  Look for God not only among the roses, but also among the thorns and the thickets; He is always there, He is ever present, from the smallest creatures that crawl in the dust, to the highest peaks where the eagles rest, and beyond those things to the outer reaches of the stars that shine, there is no place that exists that God does not inhabit and dwell.

Prayer: Father of All of Us,

I thank you that you are in all places in all times.  I thank you that there is not a place I can go, or a thing I can do that is outside of your presence and beyond your authority and power.  Keep me focused on your love and grace and forgive me when I fail to acknowledge you as I should.  Guide me to serve you and honor you in every breath that I take and teach me the wisdom of your Spirit.

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender my hiding places.  God is everywhere!

Leave a Reply

