Where’s My Rose Garden?


 Scripture: 1 Thessalonians 3:

3-5Not that the troubles should come as any surprise to you. You’ve always known that we’re in for this kind of thing. It’s part of our calling. When we were with you, we made it quite clear that there was trouble ahead. And now that it’s happened, you know what it’s like. That’s why I couldn’t quit worrying; I had to know for myself how you were doing in the faith. I didn’t want the Tempter getting to you and tearing down everything we had built up together.   (The Message)

Observation: We are not promised that this temporary life will be free from trouble and pain. as long as we are in this world, we should not be surprised by the hardships we encounter.

Application: We are going to encounter troubles while we journey through this life, and becoming a Christian doesn’t mean that God will take away all of our struggles.  Our struggles in this life are there for a reason, and we are to grow in some way from each one.  We may not understand and may question what God could possibly be trying to teach us in the various troubles we face, and we may never find an answer that is sufficient to explain them until that day when we are face to face with our Lord and He wipes away all the tears from our eyes.

I believe that part of our reward will be in knowing the whys of our struggles in this life, and I’m sure that in the presence of our perfect God, we will understand that our most difficult times were orchestrated in miraculous ways, not only for us but for many others around us and connected to us. 

Jesus promised us an abundant life indeed, but he never said it would be without problems and pain, in fact he warned us that while we are in this world we would definitely experience hard times.  The good news that he gave his disciples, including us, is that he has overcome the world.  And with that we have the assurance that as we abide in him, we will also overcome the world.  We can know that this world is not our final destination, but rather it is a springboard into a more glorious place, a place of peace and joy, where these troubles that we are facing today WILL be over, and we will bask in the presence of God forever.  Hallelujah!

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

Help me to endure through the troubles I face in this life, with the sure knowledge that they are only temporary.  That when I am face to face with you, I will understand the reasons that I endured my trials here on earth, and that you will grant me everlasting peace and joy in your presence.  I Thank you for the victory that is mine, and all those who trust in you!

Love Michael

Yield: I surrender my “Why me Lord” attitude.

Leave a Reply

