Any Last Words?


Scripture: 2 Sam 23

1 These are the last words of David:
“The inspired utterance of David son of Jesse,
the utterance of the man exalted by the Most High,
the man anointed by the God of Jacob,
the hero of Israel’s songs:

Observation: We only have a certain amount of time.

Application: Many people today live as though they have forever to do what they know they need to do.  “I’ve got plenty of time” they say, thinking that they can put off their obedience to God until a time that is more convenient for them.

Several years ago and several pounds ago I was an assistant instructor in a beginner’s Tae Kwon Do class.  And I would often try to get my friends to join me.  I heard lots of excuses as to why they couldn’t,  but I think that probably the most prevalent one was not an excuse not to join, but an excuse to put it off for a while.  I would hear things like, “I’m planning on coming out there with you just as soon as I get in a little better shape.” But I would never see them.  They would put it off for that reason, or maybe some other reason, but the point is, they put it off, thinking they would get to it at some point, and then they never did.

David was a great man, and he lived a full life, he made mistakes, and he had victories, he had times of joy and times of pain, but like us all, his life on this earth came to an end and his work here was through.  We are lucky enough to have his final words recorded for us in the Scripture and they are good words.

When one rules over people in righteousness, when he rules in the fear of God, he is like the light of morning at sunrise on a cloudless morning, like the brightness after rain that brings grass from the earth.’

Our words may not be recorded for the coming generations to read and be inspired by, or maybe they will, but regardless of our fame and prosperity, we can make what we do here and now count.  Don’t put it off until tomorrow, you never know when the words you speak may be your last.  What is God calling you to do?  Whatever it is, do it now, teach, preach, write, be an example for someone, show kindness, charity, mercy, forgiveness, or maybe just come home, come back to God, come back to your first faith, your first love.  Accept the call in your heart as an urgent call!  I pray that you have many many years, and abundant amounts of time to do what The Almighty has planned for you, but you can never be certain.  Our future is known only to Him, and each day we are given is a gift.

May You and I always embrace the gift and use it to its highest potential.

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

Thank you for another day of life.  Help me to use this day to serve you, honor you, and glorify you.  Help me to do what you have sent me here to do!  Guide my paths and lead me to the places you would have me be, guide my words and let me speak forth your peace and love, guide my thoughts and make me clean from within.  I praise you God for THIS time and THIS day, and I know that it is indeed a day which You have made!

Love Michael

Yield: I give up my procrastinating spirit.

Leave a Reply

