Are Your Fields On Fire?


 Scripture: 2 Sam 14:

28 Absalom lived two years in Jerusalem without seeing the king’s face. 29 Then Absalom sent for Joab in order to send him to the king, but Joab refused to come to him. So he sent a second time, but he refused to come. 30 Then he said to his servants, "Look, Joab’s field is next to mine, and he has barley there. Go and set it on fire." So Absalom’s servants set the field on fire.

31 Then Joab did go to Absalom’s house and he said to him, "Why have your servants set my field on fire?"

32 Absalom said to Joab, "Look, I sent word to you and said, ‘Come here so I can send you to the king to ask, "Why have I come from Geshur? It would be better for me if I were still there!" ‘ Now then, I want to see the king’s face, and if I am guilty of anything, let him put me to death."

33 So Joab went to the king and told him this. Then the king summoned Absalom, and he came in and bowed down with his face to the ground before the king. And the king kissed Absalom.

Observation:  God will do what it takes to get your attention.

Application:  Absalom had tried a couple of times already to get Joab’s attention, but when he would not respond to his calls Absalom was forced to do something drastic to get him to come.  Setting Joab’s fields on fire got the results that were needed, but had Joab responded in the first place, he would not have had to lose his fields.

This is a good lesson for us, and especially for anyone who is refusing to listen to the important message that God is trying to send to them.  God may send a messenger to speak to you, He may even send more than one.  But if you repeatedly refuse to listen to what God has to say, he will eventually resort to drastic measures in order to get your attention.

You may not have a barley field like Joab did, but I’m sure that you have things in your life that are important to you.  And you don’t want to risk losing those important things by continually rejecting God.  If God has been sending you a message, and you’ve turned away from it, watch out.   Maybe God has even sent more than one messenger your way that you’ve rejected and turned aside.  If that’s you, be careful, your fields may be in danger.  I don’t know what is in your own personal barley fields, but I can tell you that we each have within our fields something or someone very dear to us.

God doesn’t want to burn down your fields in order to get your attention, but if you continue to refuse His instruction, if you continually dismiss His messengers, He will eventually do what He has to do to.  Joab’s fields burned because of his own stubbornness.  Absalom had a message that was too important to be ignored, and he couldn’t allow Joab to do that. 

God’s message for you is so important that He allowed His only Son to be tortured and crucified on a cross just so this message of love, grace and forgiveness could be communicated to you.  The message is too important to be ignored!  Don’t doubt that God will eventually do whatever He has to do to get your attention, even if He has to burn your fields to do so.

Prayer: Heavenly God,

  Help me to be receptive to Your Spirit as you speak to my heart.  Help me to listen and obey your words.  Let me not be so stubborn that you will have to do drastic things in order to get my attention.  But Father, I thank you that you love me enough that you will burn down fields of mine here in this life, so that you may make your truths which carry eternal rewards known to me.  If my ears won’t hear and my eyes wont see, let my fields in this life burn till my heart is open to you, Dear God.

Love Michael

Yield: I yield my stubbornness and pride, and surrender my fields.

2 comments on “Are Your Fields On Fire?

  1. Earl says:

    Absalom was not the voice of God. He was a vandal. He acted routinely with a view of his own self-interest. He had no regard for right or wrong. He was purely driven by his own self-interest. Even when he acted on behalf of his sister, it resulted in his elimination of a contender for the throne which he so coveted. In this instance Absalom’s message dis not come from the heart of God. His message came from his own heart of darkness. He message was, “I want what I want and I want it now! Give it to me!” He hurt those who loved him. By arson he sought to terrorize others into helping him manipulate himself back into a position of favor. Sadly, he ended badly.

    • Thank you for the comment Earl! You are absolutely right about Absalom. He indeed had his own self-interest in mind when he set Joab’s fields on fire. I may have glorified him a little too much there.

      I find it comforting to know that wisdom can be gained from the imperfect actions of imperfect people. I think that God meant for it to be this way, he uses us, even in the midst of our unworthiness.

      I didn’t mean to say that Absalom was the voice of God. I’m merely pointing out a similarity in how he got the attention of Joab, to that of how God may resort to drastic measures to get our attention if we fail to respond.

      Thanks again for the comment, and I hope to hear from you again!

      Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

