The Mind of God


Scripture: Psalm 139:

1 O LORD, you have searched me
       and you know me.

 2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
       you perceive my thoughts from afar.

 3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
       you are familiar with all my ways.

 4 Before a word is on my tongue
       you know it completely, O LORD.

 5 You hem me in—behind and before;
       you have laid your hand upon me.

 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
       too lofty for me to attain.

 7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
       Where can I flee from your presence?

 8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
       if I make my bed in the depths, [a] you are there.

Observation: We are within the Mind of God.

Application:  David said that the thoughts of God are too lofty for us to attain, we struggle to understand God and His will, but we will never in this life be able to comprehend just how big our God truly is. 

The other night at a Bible Study we were talking about when God called out to Adam in the garden of Eden and asked, “Where are you?”  And we were commenting on the fact that this was Almighty God  asking a question that He already knew.  He just wanted Adam to admit to Him that he was trying to hide.  God was never in doubt about what Adam had done, nor where he had hid himself.  It was always about Adam coming to terms with what he had done.  And it’s the same with us, nothing is ever hidden from God, and our confessions and repentance are not about appeasing God, nor informing Him of something He doesn’t know, it’s always about the condition of our own soul, and our surrender to Him.

 This psalm reminds me of a drama I studied in high school called Our Town by: Thornton Wilder.   The thing I remember the most is a short part about a letter with a very interesting  address.

Rebecca: I never told you about a letter Jane Crofut got from her minister when she was sick. He wrote Jane a letter, and on the envelope the address was like this: It said: Jane Crofut; The Crofut Farm; Grover’s Corners; Sutton County; New Hampshire; United States of America.

George: What’s funny about that?

Rebecca: But listen, it’s not finished: The United States of America; Continent of North America; Western Hemisphere; the Earth; the Solar System; the Universe; the Mind of God — that’s what it said on the envelope.

How profound is that?  I know that there is no accurate way that the human mind can ever conceive the mind of God, but I believe that its true, that we are all in the mind of God throughout the course of our lives.  God is in all places at all times, there is no where you can go that puts you out of the reach of God.  Yes we may live a life of rejection and refuse to accept the blessings of God, we may refuse to acknowledge God, but He will never reject us, and will always be there anxiously awaiting our hearts to turn to Him.

I know I have experienced times of reluctance in my life, when I felt that I was away from God, but I never was.  No matter where I went, or what I did, God was there, God knows, God sees, and even still – God loves, God forgives, God restores.  How great a God we serve!

Prayer: Great and Glorious God,

   Creator and Ruler of the Universe, I thank you that you are in all places, and in all times.  I thank you that you live in every molecule of air that I breath, and that you are with me every step that I take.  Help me to always remember and recognize your presence in my life wherever I may be or whatever I may be doing.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up the notion that I can get out of the view of God.

Leave a Reply

