God layed the smack down on Uzzah!


Scripture:  2 Sam 6:  6When they came to the threshing floor of Nakon, Uzzah reached out and took hold of the ark of God, because the oxen stumbled. 7The LORD’s anger burned against Uzzah because of his irreverent act; therefore God struck him down, and he died there beside the ark of God.

Observation: The Lord requires reverence and respect. 

Application: There are so many people today who have lost all reverence for God because they don’t believe they will ever have to answer to Him.  I’m appalled by the huge amount of people who will say or do anything to get people to look their way.  Many of our young people who are about to enter into the after high school world have no convictions, they are not passionate about anything,  and more and more I see them demonstrate no restraint when it comes to their language.  But it’s not just young people, its 30 somethings and 40 somethings and older even, although I do think the lack of respect and reverence for God begins to decrease as age increases. 

I’m not sure if its always been this way, or if I’m just really starting to see it for myself.  I am however almost certain that the intensity of disrespect, especially disrespect for God and God’s people, is much higher now than I’ve ever seen it in my life and this disrespect knows no age limit but it is across the board of age ranges. 

You can see a steady decline since we began turning the other cheek and  allowing  God to be taken out of the public eye.  When I was a young boy I remember scripture being read in the classroom every morning, but only for a few years, then that was taken away.  By the time I was in Jr. High there came the debates about Prayer in school, and before long that was gone.  In recent years we’ve lost the right to display the Ten Commandments in public places.  We have reduced God to the sanctuaries of our Churches, and kicked Him out of every other area of life.  It’s no wonder that people are losing respect for God.

Our scripture marks a point when God let it be known that He requires reverence and respect.  It was such a small thing, Uzzah slipped and let his hand touch the Ark, and God layed the smack down on him!  David saw it and said, if God is going to do this just for touching the Ark, how can I ever take this thing into my possession?  Can you imagine what some of the people of our time will face when they have to answer for the disrespectful actions they are guilty of?  

 You may say, “Well why isn’t God doing something about it?”  “Why are so many people allowed to go on, with their irreverent and abomnible ways without being struck down as Uzzah was?”  And the answer is, because we are living in the Age of Grace.  Right now God’s grace is freely given to all who will repent and believe in Jesus Christ, God’s Son.  Those who refuse God’s gift will someday stand before a God of Just Judgement and will indeed face the consequences of their lives and their irreverent ways. 

I think most of us have been irreverent, and disrespectful to God during our lives, I doubt there is a handful of Christians who wouldn’t admit a time when they took God’s name in vain.  I have been guilty of irreverence to God, I have let corrupt communication come out of my mouth on more than one occasion.  It’s not something I’m proud of, nor something I ever made a habit of, but I have made mistakes, just like most everyone.  Some of us slip up and stumble from time to time, but then we get back on the road and start trying, to the best of our ability to live our lives in a way that’s pleasing to God.  Far too many others never worry about their slips, and don’t even consider their actions a slip at all, but blindly continue down a path to destruction singing their own praises all the way.

Respect and Reverence for God may be old fashion and out dated, but its still the right thing.  Wisdom begins with the fear of God and we need to be teaching our young people that, and remembering it ourselves.

Prayer:  Heavenly Father,

Please forgive me when I fail to show you the reverence I should.  Help me to each day be respectful to my calling, and to the service I am to provide to Your Children.  Guide me and help me to show others by my own actions that reverence to you is a good and noble thing, and let me be a good example to our young people.

Love Michael

Yield: I give my respect and reverence to God!

Leave a Reply

