My Way, or the Highway.


Scripture: Matt 12:

22 Then they brought him a demon-possessed man who was blind and mute, and Jesus healed him, so that he could both talk and see. 23 All the people were astonished and said, “Could this be the Son of David?”

24But when the Pharisees heard this, they said, “It is only by Beelzebul, the prince of demons, that this fellow drives out demons.”

Observation:  We should be careful that we don’t get so wrapped up in our own understandings of the faith that we are not open to how God is moving and speaking to us today.

Application:  I often wonder if today’s Church is open minded enough to hear the voice of God as He continues to communicate with us through His Spirit, and through His Children.  If Jesus were to appear again in our midst would we recognize Him, or would we, like the Pharisees, accuse Him of being of the devil? 

I know many would answer that by saying, “When Jesus comes again there will be no mistaking who He is.”  And I would tend to agree that the scripture portrays Christ return in a triumphant and miraculous way.  However, I believe that when we start thinking we have it all figured out, we better be careful.  Remember that God has often manifested His plans in ways that were unexpected. 

The problem with the Pharisees was that they thought they had it all figured out, they thought that if it wasn’t according to their plans and understanding, it could not possibly be from God.  Since Jesus was a very different version of the Messiah than they had expected, He must be in league with demons.  They couldn’t accept the fact that God had come in such a meek and peaceful way.  They expected the Messiah to ride in on a white horse, sword blazing, and defeat the enemies of Israel.  Jesus didn’t do that though and they couldn’t handle it.

How do we react when we are presented with an idea about God that we haven’t previously understood.  Do we approach it with prayer, in The Way of love and peace, or do we immediately condemn?  I’m not trying to push denomination out here but I have to say that one of the things I like most about the United Methodist Church is our motto.  Open Hearts, Open Minds, Open Doors.  But are we really living up to that motto?  Sometimes we are, but I think we need to always be aware of our own intolerance.  We should endeavor through grace, mercy, and prayeful consideration to be Open to the movements of the Holy Spirit, and to be listening for the Still Small Voice of our God – who I KNOW is still whispering his message in our ears.

Prayer: Dear Lord,

Please help me to always be open to Your Spirit, and ready to hear your voice as you speak to my heart, and my ears through Your Serverants and Children.  Help me to really Open my heart and my Mind so that the guidance which you desire to give me may impact me and those around me and cause us to go where You lead.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up my attitude of “If it’s not my way, its wrong.”

One comment on “My Way, or the Highway.

  1. john pugh says:

    Melissa came through operation ok, and I will be visiting her again today.

    I din’t leave until 3 am last night.

Leave a Reply

