Where are you headed? And why?


Scripture: Matt. 11:

2 When John heard in prison what the Messiah was doing, he sent his disciples 3 to ask him, “Are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?”

4 Jesus replied, “Go back and report to John what you hear and see: 5 The blind receive sight, the lame walk, those who have leprosy are cleansed, the deaf hear, the dead are raised, and the good news is proclaimed to the poor. 6 Blessed is anyone who does not stumble on account of me.”

Observation: The people in the New Testament came to see what Jesus was doing, and the reality of His identity was shown through His works, and it still is today.

Application: One of the things that we are instructed by the scripture to do is to be ready at all times to give an account of our faith. “be ready always to givean answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:”   1 Peter 3:15   When someone asks you why you have faith in Jesus, why you are a Christian, why you think going to Church is important, and other questions like that, what is your answer?  Have you thought about it?  If a poor blind and wandering soul were to ask you today, or tomorrow why you believe what you do, would you be able to give them an answer that is more than, a quote of scripture, or a quick reference to your own inner faith?  I.E. “Its just my belief that I’ve been raised in.” 

I believe in the power of God’s word to touch a persons heart, and I’m not downing the use of scripture when talking with wanderers, but God has to prepare a person for that step.  Many of those who would question your faith in such a manner may not place much authority in the Bible as the indisputable word of God like you do.  Quoting scripture to one of these people may not be a satisfactory answer to them.  Saying that it’s just a matter of faith, may not be enough.  You may say, “Well I planted a seed, that’s all I can do.”  But if you toss the seeds on stony ground, they will never sprout, the soil must first be tilled.

When the disciples asked Jesus to identify himself he told them to go back and tell John what they had seen and heard.  It was the real work of Jesus, it was the difference that He was making in peoples lives that confirmed who He was.  And it’s the same thing that we need to be using to confirm who He is to those who we know, that are not part of the faith.  Rather than hurrying ourselves through the normal evangelical speeches that we learn, when witnessing I think we need to relax and learn to share what Jesus has done for us in our lives.  The real differences that we can point to and share are the things that are really going to speak to people. 

I’m not trying to tell you what to say, but we need to think about what we have Seen, and Heard Jesus doing in our own lives that we can share with those who are asking about Christ.  Have the blind been healed?  Have the lame been made to walk?  Has your life been saved?  I don’t know what Christ has done for you personally, but if you’ve never thought about it – especially if you’ve never thought about it as something you can share with those who don’t know Jesus.  I hope that today you will take some time and just try to  nail down a few things that you can point to in your life.  Maybe it’s a peace that you have that you never had before, maybe it’s been a real physical healing, maybe you’ve been delivered from an addiction, or you’ve seen God moving through the scriptures (if you can point to a specific example of how the scripture had an impact in your life, its ok to use that even very early in a conversation with someone who doesn’t believe). 

So, what is it about this Jesus of yours that your friends, neighbors and relatives can’t live without?

By The Way – I think I better advertise this book a little bit – I just finished it today and I realize that several of these ideas are flowing from it.  Hitchhikers Guide to Evangelism by: William Tenny Brittian 

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

  Help me to be thoughtful and prayerful about those things in my life where you have made such a difference, that I couldn’t have gone on without you.  Help me to cultivate the account of my faith so that anytime and anywhere I am able to give an account for the reason I believe in you.  You are My God!  Lead me into the opportunities to share the faith with those whose hearts you are preparing and who’s paths I cross.

Love Michael

Yield: I yield the experiences of my life, to be the witness of Your actions God.

3 comments on “Where are you headed? And why?

  1. john pugh says:

    Thanks for praying for my family.

    My sister called me today from Alabama, and she is suffering
    from Kidney failure.

    She is on a Jet and flying to Vanderbilt hospital where she is
    supposed to get a transplant this evening.

    I guess you know where I am heading out to tonight!

    Keep her in your prayers, and I will let you know how she is doing.

    JOHN

  2. john pugh says:

    oh…

    Her name is Melissa Johnson.

  3. revledbetter says:

    Bless Her Lord! I’ll be praying for Melissa John.

Leave a Reply

