The Desert of Praise.


Scripture: Psalm 63

A psalm of David. When he was in the Desert of Judah.  

1 O God, you are my God,
       earnestly I seek you;
       my soul thirsts for you,
       my body longs for you,
       in a dry and weary land
       where there is no water.

 2 I have seen you in the sanctuary
       and beheld your power and your glory.

 3 Because your love is better than life,
       my lips will glorify you.

 4 I will praise you as long as I live,
       and in your name I will lift up my hands.

 5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
       with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

Observation:  A true Child of God can sing praises while in the midst of troubles.

Application: I think that one of the truest forms of faith is in the witness of David here as he is running for his life in the desert and Saul is out to kill him.  This is a time of trouble for David, yet as his belly growls from hunger, his lips sing of how he will be satisfied with the richest of foods.  What a great faith David had, this is why God said of him that he was a man after His own heart.

When we are in the midst of our own deserts, when we are running from the predators that we have to face, are we still able to sing praises to The Father, or are we too busy asking, “Why me Lord?”  I am reminded that as Children of the Most High God, we are a peculiar people.  We are sometimes foolish in the eyes of the world, because it’s crazy by all social norms to be happy and praising God when troubles surmount against you.  In fact, if you’re not careful, you may end up in one of those padded rooms in a tightly fitting canvas jacket. 

We  ARE  different, we  ARE  just crazy enough to go ahead and start thanking God and praising Him for things that we have not yet seen come to pass because we  KNOW  that our God is strong enough, and that He is going to fulfill the promises that He has made to us as His Children.

Prayer: Heavenly God,

  Help me to be able to praise you, not only in the good times, but more especially in the hard times that I face.  Help me to remain steadfast in my faith to you so that when I feel the pressures and struggles of this life, I do not question the reason, but rather I lean more on you to carry me through.  Help me to praise you with all my heart while I walk through the valleys, and through the deserts of life.  Thank you Father for being there with me through every moment of pain and suffering that I have experienced so far, and that I will experience in times to come.  Thank you for carrying me through when I could not walk on my own.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up the desire to ask, “Why me Lord?”

2 comments on “The Desert of Praise.

  1. john pugh says:

    Very good Micheal, and I have bookmarked this page.

    Looking at life through David’s eyes can make one feel
    small in their faith.

    I definetly have a lot of room to grow.

    john

  2. revledbetter says:

    We all do John,

    Thanks for the comment brother!

Leave a Reply

