Don’t Worry, Be Happy!


Don’t Worry, Be Happy!

Scripture: Matt 6:25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life [e]?

Observation: When we worry all the time, we are showing a lack of faith in God.

Application: We all worry from time to time, we worry about our financial situations, our health, our children, our spouse, our government, and any number of other subjects that we might be able to think about.  Worrying is probably one thing that is common to most of us, and I don’t know that we will ever be able to completely erase it from our lives, at least our lives on this earth, and in this world of flesh.  But when we dwell on something, and let it eat at us, it can keep us awake at night, cause us to not eat right, and many other symptoms that eventual, if left unchecked will lead to not only physical illness, but also spiritual and emotional problems.

I like what Jesus says here, I can imagine him strolling along with the disciples and pointing at the flowers and the birds as he talks.  We need to realize that when we refuse to release our worries and turn them over to God, we are showing a lack in faith that He is in control and that He is ultimately working things out for the greater good of His will and purpose for us, and our family, friends, community, church and nation.

God takes care of even the flowers and the birds, and he loves us above all other parts of His creation.  So much are we loved that He was willing to sacrifice Himself in Jesus Christ on the cross, just so we can hang out with Him forever!  What a great love it is that God has for you, and if He loves you that much, don’t you know that He isn’t going to let anything overtake you without being there and bringing you safely through.  The winds and the waves, and the storms of life are GOING to come, there is no escaping the problems we encounter on lifes journey.  But through all of it, God is with us, and so why worry, why make things worse than they are for us.  We as God’s people should, more than anyone else be able to have a heavenly peace, even when all of hell breaks loose against us.  (forgive the pun)

I don’t know what I’m going to face tomorrow, or even later today.  I don’t know what it is that you may be facing in your life, or whats in store for you down the road a little.  There is but one thing that we can be certain of, and that is that if we are walking with God, then He will lead us through all those hard spots that we encounter.  Being with God doesn’t mean we don’t go through the hard spots, but going through with Him, makes it so much easier.

Illustration:  I remember when I was pretty young, my family went to Gun Town Mountain in KY.  There was a haunted house there and my Dad and I went in together.  I remember when we were going in, I was a little scared, but I was excited so it was fun!  Then once we got in, and things were pretty dark, I remember getting really close behind Dad, and holding on to his belt loops so I didn’t lose him.  Something would jump out from a corner and I would get scared and would get a little closer to Dad.  As we went on through, this happened several more times and my fear got worse and worse.  We came out of a little balcony at one point and I’m pretty sure that if Dad hadn’t been there to grab me I would have climbed down the front of the building to avoid going back in and the rest of the way through it.  When we went back in it got so dark I couldn’t see my own hand in front of my face and I was so afraid that I was going to lose Dad that I jumped up into his arms and he had to carry me the rest of the way.  Now I was young, but I was a good sized kid, and too big to be carried, but Dad struggled and sweated and carried me the rest of the way through the haunted house until we got out.

If Dad hadn’t been with me I don’t think I could have made it through that haunted house, and I certainly wouldn’t have went back through again on my own without him.  I kind of hate to admit it, but a few years ago I took my family through Gun Town Mountain, and inconspicuously avoided the haunted house (which was still there).  But I can tell you this, if Dad was there with me, I would have went through again with him, cause I know that if I needed him to, he would have hauled my 40 year old 200+ lbs body out of there again anyway he could have if I needed him to.  (Gosh that’s a funny sight to imagine, ha-ha)

The point is, God is with us through the scariest parts of our lives, we don’t have to worry about going through them, we don’t have to worry even while we’re going through them because He is there, and He is strong enough even still, no matter how grown up we may think we’ve become,  to carry us through whatever dangers we may face.

Prayer: Heavenly Father,

   Help me to turn over the things that I worry about to you.  Help me to learn to put my trust in your ability to carry me, and my loved ones, through any storm that we may have to face.  Guide me and help me to be a strong arm of faith for those who may be trembling and worrying about their own situation, and allow me to share that faith with those who need it the most.

Love Michael

Yield: I don’t need to worry about Anything!  God is in the drivers seat!

Leave a Reply

