Evil things from a Holy God.


Scripture: 1 Sam 18:8 Saul was very angry; this refrain displeased him greatly. “They have credited David with tens of thousands,” he thought, “but me with only thousands. What more can he get but the kingdom?” 9 And from that time on Saul kept a close eye on David.

    10 The next day an evil [a] spirit from God came forcefully on Saul. He was prophesying in his house, while David was playing the lyre, as he usually did. Saul had a spear in his hand 11 and he hurled it, saying to himself, “I’ll pin David to the wall.” But David eluded him twice.

Observation: God is always in charge.  We are permitted to chose our path, but God knows which way we will chose, and accomplishes His will regardless of our choices.

Application: Saul had already made the mistake of not fully obeying Gods commands to completely destroy the Amalakites, and because of this he had already been rejected by God as King of Israel and David had been chosen and anointed.  Although God’s plan had not been fully completed in the physical, there was no doubt that Saul would fall, and David would rise as King. 

Verse 10 is a little hard for us to deal with when we see that an “evil spirit” came from God on Saul.  How can something evil come from God who is holy?  What we have to realize is that ALL things come from God the creator.  What we might consider evil, is still a creation of God, and under God’s ultimate power and sovereignty.  We could get around the word evil if we wanted to in this verse and say that perhaps a better translation of the word evil would be “harmful,” but I don’t think we need to do that.  What we need to deal with is our understanding of God.  We want to limit God to being unable to deal with or be in the presence of evil in any way, but God is all powerful, God is in control.  Do you think for one moment that there is one thing in all of creation that God is not aware of, or in control of.  Is there anything on earth or in heaven that is not subject to God?  He is Lord of All! 

As I look at the events of my life, there have been things that have happened which I would say were evil, but which now, as I look back on them, I can see that God was working in, and that God ultimately used these things to bring about good.  If some evil things had not happened, I certainly don’t think I would be a pastor now.  If some evil things had not been allowed by God to manifest in me, and around me, I would not be effective in the position he has placed me.  So even those things that were evil, ultimately were good, because God made it so.

The evil spirit from God that entered into Saul had a purpose, and that purpose would serve the will of God.  David was to be the new King, this was God’s plan, and even though some bad things had to happen on the way to Saul, those bad things were part of Gods perfect plan.

God has not promised us that we will live a life without experiencing bad things, or evil things.  In fact, we are told that as long as we are in this world we are for sure going to face them.  But He has promised us that if we are faithful to Him, and if we accept Jesus, then we will one day be with Him in a place where those bad things have been casted away and nothing but love and peace remain.  In the end, the evil things of the world will be done away with, but as long as we are in the world, we will experience them.  Nevertheless, have no fear because even the evil things, are under Gods control!

I can’t finish today without mentioning something that all Christians hold near to our hearts which illustrates this point.  Think of Jesus, and as he hung upon the cross, that evil instrument of Roman execution, that thing which caused Him so much pain and suffering, and caused Him to die.  We wear them around our necks, we put them on our rings, we have them in our Churches…  Why?  Because God used that evil thing, to accomplish a glorious victory for us all, and the evil cross, is now a symbol of God’s love for us.  Selah

Prayer: Father,

As I struggle sometimes with things in this life that I don’t understand, I ask that you strengthen my faith in you and help me to always realize that you are in control and that all things are subject to you’re will.  Help me to lean on you always, trusting that whatever I experience, you are allowing, and using to bring about your purposes.  Keep me steadfast in my heart during the difficulties of this life, and instill in me that assurance of the victorious eternal life to come.

Love Michael.

Yield: I give up the thought that anything that exists is not under God’s control, or part of His plan.

Leave a Reply

