Long live the King


Scripture: 1 Sam 8:

 6 But when they said, “Give us a king to lead us,” this displeased Samuel; so he prayed to the LORD. 7 And the LORD told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king. 8 As they have done from the day I brought them up out of Egypt until this day, forsaking me and serving other gods, so they are doing to you. 9 Now listen to them; but warn them solemnly and let them know what the king who will reign over them will do.”

Observation: If God is your Co-Pilot you’re in the wrong seat.

Application:  Israel had been many years led by God – now they decided that since Samuel was getting older, they needed a King to rule over them when he was gone.  They had lost faith in God to provide them with a new spiritual leader, and decided instead to go with a political one. 

It’s always a bad idea to second guess God, if you’re hearing the still small voice within, listen to it.  Don’t go listen to a sermon, or buy a book, or take a course that tells you how to interpret what it says, just be prayerful and listen.  There is no doubt that God anoints people to teach us, and to lead us spiritually, but never let them take the place of true revelation from God Himself.  Never think that because a Godly, Spirit Filled, Anointed leader has led you, or advised you, or preached a truth to you, that this excuses YOU from really seeking God’s message that He is speaking to YOUR heart and mind.

Fifteen mins of real prayer and silent listening will bring about more wisdom than two hours of listening to a wise and good speaker, teacher, counselor or preacher, even if they are Godly people who are blessed and annointed. 

I’m not saying that you shouldn’t listen to people that God sends your way, by all means listen.  Just don’t make the mistake that Israel made and get lazy about listening for Gods voice as He speaks to your own heart as well.  There have been many times where I’ve preached or taught something, and then someone come up to me afterward and tell me what they got out of it, and it would be totally different from what I was trying to put forth.   God was speaking to them in a way that I couldn’t, leading, guiding, and teaching in ways that I was not able to alone. 

I think the trick is in not always saying, “Ok, Amen,”  but sometimes we need to say, “Hmmm  Is that right..”

Prayer:  Father I pray your blessing and anointing on the words I speak to your people, may they be the instruments from which your Spirit leads, teaches, councils and builds up.  Father take control of my life and help me to lean totally on you and your guidance, even when I seek wisdom from the good people you put around me, send me their wisdom filtered through your Spirit and Grace.

Love Michael

Yield: I give up thinking that anything in the world could possess the full knowledge that the Spirit of God can convey.

Leave a Reply

