When you give, you really receive


Scripture: 2 Cor 8:7But just as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in complete earnestness and in your love for us[a]—see that you also excel in this grace of giving.

Observation: When we give from a cheerful heart, we are blessed beyond the measure of  the physical gift.

Application:  You may feel that you’re not very blessed when it comes to money, or material things; however I might argue that a little bit with you, if you have even a little money in the bank, in your wallet, spare change in a dish somewhere, you are among the top 8% of the worlds wealthy. 

Visit Penny’s Place for a little more info on that – Penny’s Place

The fact that you are able to read this journal today says you are blessed, and I don’t mean blessed by me and the journal, I mean blessed by God with a new day, good eyesight, a place to be able to get on-line and use a computer, a comfortable chair to sit in, there are so many blessings that we don’t see around us every day and I think we need to start taking a little time to thank God for those things. 

And not only do we need to thank God, but we also need to share and give from our abundance to bless others around us.  We may not have a lot, but of what we have, we can share and give.  If you don’t have a lot of money, think about how God has blessed you in other ways.  Do you have a gift for teaching?  For singing?  For caring for people?  Are you in good health?  Perhaps you could give of your time and go visit someone who you know who isn’t feeling well.  Maybe you could sing a song of encouragement to them, or pray with them, or read to them.  Give from the abundance of your Heart, if not from the abundance of your wallet or purse, because even if you give from your material abundance, if it doesn’t originate from the heart, it is not the kind of charity that God wants.

I know I’ve said it before but that’s never stopped me from repeating myself before so here I go again. 🙂  You don’t have anything that God needs.  He is the Master and Creator, He is the Original Source, and the Ongoing Sustainer, He is All Powerful, and in All Places, there is not one thing in this world that you could give to God that He doesn’t already have.  So what it all boils down to is a state of the heart…     Your Heart….    Jesus said for us to love one another as He has loved us, and we can’t do that if we aren’t willing to give of ourselves, even when it stings a little, to help someone less fortunate than ourselves.  Please don’t get me wrong there, that’s not to say we injure ourselves or fall short on our commitments by giving more than we can.  But I think God wants us to give as Much as we can, and help all that we can, for as long as we can, in every way that we can.

This is an area that God has promised if we are faithful to that He will bless us in.  So try giving of yourself today, of your time, your talents, or your resources, and watch just how much God will bless you!

Prayer: Father God,

Please help me to be a more cheerful giver of myself and my resources.  Help me to see all the wonderful blessings which you have showered upon me and to reach inside and give of them from my heart to those who are in need and who you can lift up through that love.  Grant me the opportunities to be the person of benevolence that you would have me to be and when those opportunities arise help me to have the courage, wisdom, and love to grab them and take advantage of them.

Love Michael

Yield: I yield everything I have to serve God – even though God Himself has no need of anything I can offer, I know that many of His children do.

Leave a Reply

