Fool me three times shame on you! Fool me four times…


Scripture:  Judges 16: 17So he told her everything. “No razor has ever been used on my head,” he said, “because I have been a Nazirite dedicated to God from my mother’s womb. If my head were shaved, my strength would leave me, and I would become as weak as any other man.”

 

Observation:  We can not live a life that is pleasing to God unless we are in submission to Him.

 

Application:  We have to understand something about the customs and traditions of the Nazarites to get the meaning behind Samson’s long hair, and why it gave him strength. 

 

In the culture of the day, long hair on a man was a symbol that he was living under the covering of another, that he was under that person’s authority.  To the Nazarites their long hair was a symbol of their submission to the authority of God.  They were also to abstain from partaking of anything that came from a grapevine, not only wine, but not even the unfermented grape juice was allowed.  And these were things that Samson had followed from the time of his birth because he had been set apart and marked for service to God in this way.

 

So as long as Samson remained in submission to God he was operating not in his own strength, but in the strength of God!  What an awesome thought huh?  Its the same for us today you know.  If we are in submission to God, we are empowered by Him, we are carried through, sustained and lifted up by the Almighty Himself.

 

Delilah had come to Samson three times in the past and asked for the secret of his strength, and each time Samson told her something totally untrue, tie me with new ropes, tie me with fresh thongs, weave my hair into a loom.  Each time Delilah would try to subdue Samson, and each time Samson stood up like the incredible hulk, threw off the restraints and (I bet) he laughed and laughed.

 

The problem here is that somewhere during these games which I’m sure Samson thought were all in fun, he got the idea that it was his own strength that carried him through.   So Samson, knowing that she had three times before tried to subdue him, gave her the true secret of his hair thinking that he could still get up (in his own strength) and easily throw off whatever bindings she would use to tie him.  Big mistake Samson – you were operating in God’s strength as long as you were submissive to Him, but now you’re on your own, and you’re not as tough as you thought you were.

 

So here is our teaching today – we may not have to grow our hair long to show our submission to God in our culture today, and thats good news for some of us guys out there.  😛  But we show our submission to God in the way we live, and how we treat and interact with those around us, whom God has placed in our paths.  As long as we are in submission to God, He will give us the strength we need to defeat any enemy, and overcome any obstical for our spiritual walk.  The moment that we think we can do it on our own, that we can walk our own path, follow our own rules, and forget about God, we are indeed, on our own and can’t expect God to rescue us or carry us through when we face the storms.

 

Before Samson’s death, he had started letting his hair grow again, and he said a prayer to God, a final prayer that was answered, and he got the revenge on his enemies that he desired.  If we have fallen away from our submission to The Father, we can right now turn back to Him, and call upon Him, and know that He will hear us.

 

Prayer:  Dear God,

   Please help me to remain in submission to you, help me to keep your word, and feed your sheep.  Grant me the anointing of your spirit and give me the strength I need this and every day to face the enemies that come my way, and to overcome the trials that I must pass through.

 

Love Michael

 

Yield:  I am under the authority of God, I submit myself to you Oh Lord – guide me and strengthen me to continue on your paths.

Leave a Reply

