Thank you Lord!


Scripture 1 Corinthians 10

31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Observation

You should always be able to give thanks to God for the things you’re doing.

Application

There is a comedian that some of the younger generation will sadly never know who had some wonderful stories to tell.  I have a particular fondness for him because he told stories about back woods country people by the name of Ledbetter.  The person I’m talking about is Jerry Clower.

He had some really funny stories to tell, but I want to share with you something I heard him say at the end of one of his concerts that I used to have on a record.  He said, “If you’re ever about to do something and you wonder to yourself, Is this the right thing to do? Here is a way to find out.  If you can stop and Thank God for it.  If you can say, I thank you Lord for giving me the opportunity to do this, or for bringing me to this place.  If you can say that to God and give Him thanks for it.  You’re probably alright.  But if you can’t  – Watch out!  You’re about to mess up.”

That is good advice – we should be able to thank God for whatever we are doing, and if we can’t.  If our conscious pricks our hearts when we go to thank our Heavenly Father for it, then something is out of line, and we are about to make a mistake.

Prayer

Father guide me today and every day to do the things you would have me to do.  I thank you for the opportunities you will place before me today.  Help me God to take advantage of each and every one of them.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

I give up my ideas of right and wrong and cling to God’s ideas.  Teach me Lord!

One comment on “Thank you Lord!

  1. Tom Jehnzen says:

    Very Good advise…thx!

Leave a Reply

