But for the Grace of God – there am I!


Scripture  1 Corinthians 9

19 Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. 20 To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21 To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22 To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. 23 I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

Observation

You can’t teach someone something from on top of the mountain, if they are standing in the valley.  You have to go down into the valley and stand with them so they can hear you.

Application

I think that as we reach out to people with the Gospel its important that we don’t come across as thinking we are better than them.  We must relate to people on their level, we have to let them know that we have been guilty of the same things as they.  And according to the scriptures we are, no matter what they are guilty of, we are just as guilty as they.  (James 2:10)  If we’ve broken one part of the law we’re guilty of all of it.

Even though I’ve never done some of the things that some people have, I’m still just as guilty as they are.  I’ve never murdered, but I’ve hated and Jesus said that’s just as bad as committing murder. 

One of the biggest complaints I hear today about the Church is that its full of hypocrites, and people who are “Holier than Thou,”  and I have to agree that there are many who talk a good talk, but don’t walk the walk in the Church. There are also many people who as they feel that they are overcoming the negative parts of their lives begin to get an elitist attitude and without realizing it, are falling right back into what they just crawled out of.

We are far from perfect in the Church, but we have a perfect God who is leading us on to perfection.  We will not be perfect until “That which is perfect comes.”  So as we relate to others and follow the great commission (Mark 16:15), let us ever remember that we too have been the recipients, and are still receiving the mercy of God on a daily basis. 

Isn’t it great that His mercy is fresh and overflowing for you every morning?

Prayer

Father help me to be the person you need me to be in order to carry the good news of Jesus your Son to those whose hearts you are preparing.   Help me to go boldly into the world, but with a heart of humility and service. Let me not be timid about going where you lead, but let me go with a heart that is tender and understanding.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

 I am nothing without the righteousness of Christ!

http://passionculture.net/Articles/an-unspoken-plea

One comment on “But for the Grace of God – there am I!

  1. Tom Jehnzen says:

    Again brother..that is something to chew on for awhile…thx!

Leave a Reply

