Spring Cleaning Time!


Scripture Joshua 7 ; 13 “Go, consecrate the people. Tell them, ‘Consecrate yourselves in preparation for tomorrow; for this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: There are devoted things among you, Israel. You cannot stand against your enemies until you remove them.

Observation

We may have to remove some things from our lives in order to stand against our enemies.

Application

How can we expect to be triumphant in our personal process of becoming, if we continue to cling to worldly things, to things not of God, to things that are outside of His will for us. 

Is it hatred of another person, is it unforgivness, is it a thing, a habit, a hobby, or an obsession that we are devoted to which keeps us from a full relationship with The Heavenly Father? 

For Israel, God had warned them not to take any of the devoted items from Jericho.  But Achan had done just that, and his disobedience was causing trouble for the entire nation.  It was not until those items were cast away that Israel was able to move forward in victory. 

When I examine my own life I realize that I have items of devotion that I need to cast away and cut out of my life so that I may be fully surrendered to the Lord.  How can I expect to win the battles I’m facing when I have not given over every aspect of myself to Him?  If I’m losing ground in some spiritual / physical battle, I need to look at my life and see if there are any items of devotion that I’m clinging to that God wants me to get rid of.

Prayer

Father God,

 Help me to purge those items of devotion from my life that take my focus away from you.  Help me to see those areas where I am not fully surrendered, and turn them over to your love and mercy.  Grant me the resolve and steadfastness of heart to cast aside all that stands in my way between You and I and the relationship you want us to have.

I love you and Praise you God!

Selah!

Yieldedness

Help me to throw out any items of devotion that pull my attention away from you Oh Lord!

Leave a Reply

