Goin down to the River of Jordan – gonna ask to save my soul!


Scripture Joshua 3 ;  14 So when the people broke camp to cross the Jordan, the priests carrying the ark of the covenant went ahead of them. 15 Now the Jordan is at flood stage all during harvest. Yet as soon as the priests who carried the ark reached the Jordan and their feet touched the water’s edge, 16the water from upstream stopped flowing. It piled up in a heap a great distance away, at a town called Adam in the vicinity of Zarethan, while the water flowing down to the Sea of the Arabah (the Salt Sea b]”>[b] ) was completely cut off. So the people crossed over opposite Jericho. 17 The priests who carried the ark of the covenant of the LORD stood firm on dry ground in the middle of the Jordan, while all Israel passed by until the whole nation had completed the crossing on dry ground.

Observation

The miraculous manifestations of God occur while we are in the midst of obedience to Him.

Application

Can you imagine the priests who were carrying the ark of the covenant and the doubts they might have had about what they were doing?  They had been told what would happen, but here they are actually in the process of the doing it and I know that the devil had to be working on them right then.  I can just imagine him there whispering words of doubt and fear into their hearts, I know they were fighting a battle against an unseen enemy right then!  The warrior tribes may have been decked out in their armor, but the Levite Priests were the ones defending Israel that morning at the Jordan I guarantee it.

The miracle didn’t happen until the priest were actually in the water.  They had to be fully committed, beyond the point of no return, completely given over to the strength of God.  For if at that moment God had not moved, the mighty waters of the Jordan (in flood season) would have surely swept them away and their very lives would have been lost, not to mention the Ark of the Covenant which was the greatest possession of the nation.

But The Lord will not bring you into a trial, difficulty, or obstacle that He is not prepared to bring you through.  It is the willingness to do those things that seem the hardest, the most impractical, the things that stir within us the most fear that God can use the most to increase our faith and bless us so that our cup is overflowing.

Without the crossing of the Jordan the nation of Israel would not have been able to enter into the promised land.  And with us, I think many times God places us before a river Jordan of our own.  Our spiritual Jordan is not a calm sight, it is a raging, roaring, overflowing river that is intimidating and a fearful thing to look at. We may not want to cross it, but that is exactly what God is calling us to do.

As Joshua said to the Israelites, I now say to you, Christians – come and listen to the words of the LORD your God.  This is how you will know that the living God is among you…  

Do not be afraid…   He is always with you!

Prayer

Father as I stand before the raging waters of the rivers you place in my path.  May I with faith and assurity go forward into the water, knowing that you will get me safely across to the other shore.  Let me not falter or fall away in fear because of the things I see before me, but keep me steadfast in my pace as I follow your will for my life.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

 I turn over and yield my fears and inhibitions of the things that seem to hinder my path which God has put before me.

Leave a Reply

