I did not receive it from any man


Scripture Galatians 1

10Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.  11I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel I preached is not something that man made up. 12I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ.

Observation

The true Gospel is not always what people want to hear.

Application

I am learning that when the true word of God is delivered, that it is not always well recieved.  The word of God does not please everyone who hears it.  Because it convicts the hearts, it offends the offender.  Sometimes it “Steps on Toes.”  Even my own toes as i read the words and apply them to my own life.  How often have I allowed false doctrine to creep into my own belief and theology. 

We need to be careful, and prayerful when thinking about theologies that are not biblical, there are few things that we can not turn to the scriptures about and find an answer, and those that we can not nail down specifically are usually dealt with in a general and heartfelt way somewhere.  Paul was angry with the Galatians that they had allowed the words that he knew God had given him for them to be corrupted by people who were not of the same faith.   We also need to be careful to not allow the ideas of the world to taint our understanding of our God.  In doing so we can become guilty of the 2nd commandment, by creating God in an image that we are more able to accept and deal with.

Prayer

Father God,

 Help me to hold fast to my first love and faith, grant me discernment for your true word and grace, and help me to keep the influences of the world at bay and out of my faith in you.

Love Michael

Yieldedness

 I give up my ideas of who God is, and accept who God has revealed Himself to be to me.

Leave a Reply

