Coming out from the Garden


Scripture Mark 14

60Then the high priest stood up before them and asked Jesus, “Are you not going to answer? What is this testimony that these men are bringing against you?” 61But Jesus remained silent and gave no answer.
      Again the high priest asked him, “Are you the Christ,f]”>[f] the Son of the Blessed One?”

 62“I am,” said Jesus. “And you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of the Mighty One and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

Observation

The Lord Blesses our ministries, and our lives if we are able to overcome dread, and step out of our comfortable areas of service, into the new places where He is calling us.

Application

The Gospel of Mark, more so than the others I think, shows us this truly human side of Jesus.  Since the early chapters of Mark’s gospel, Jesus has told people to not make a big deal of his miracles, he’s commanded demons to remain silent about who he was, he’s doing what He’s supposed to do, but he’s opperating all the time on the “down low.”  Why, is He trying to supress His popularity?  I think the answer to Jesus’ reluctance is the cross. 

We say He went willinglly to the cross, and so He did, but it was not something he looked forward to, it was not something He had longed for.  Jesus kept saying, “It’s not yet my time.”  Oh can’t you feel the dread in His words?   (*My Paraphrase*) Im not ready.  I don’t want to die!  If you let everyone know, who I am,  they’re going to come take me away, and I will have to suffer and die in a way that I’m not ready to face yet.  It’s NOT my TIME!

In Gethsemany Jesus needed the support of His disciples, but they didn’t have a clue as to the severity of that night, only Jesus wrestled with those spirits, but He won the battle in surrendering His will over to God the Father.

When the High Priest comes out and directly asks Him if He is the Christ, I bet he shouted His answer “I AM!”  What a powerful release to finally proclaim who He is. 

No more Holding back, no more being quiet, let it be shouted from the highest hills, Christ the redeemer has come to set us free!  Salvation has been purchased for you and me! 

Whhoooooo – Halleluah!  

Prayer

Lord, you strengthened Jesus, and  He was able to overcome all His dread of the cross in order to perform your will.  Please strengthen me and enable me to overcome those things that make me feel uncomfortable, and those things that I dread, but which, I know you have set me to perform.  Help me move out of the comfortable areas of my ministry into the hard and stony paths that lead to true redemption and surrender to you.  Let me not hold back, let me shout from the hilltops and high places, that Jesus is Lord!

Love Michael

Yieldedness

 I give up my comfort and embrace Your Will!

Leave a Reply

