Keep your feet on the ground, and keep reaching for the stars


Scripture Mark 13  

32“No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. 33Be on guard! Be alertf]”>[f]! You do not know when that time will come. 34It’s like a man going away: He leaves his house and puts his servants in charge, each with his assigned task, and tells the one at the door to keep watch.

 35“Therefore keep watch because you do not know when the owner of the house will come back—whether in the evening, or at midnight, or when the rooster crows, or at dawn. 36If he comes suddenly, do not let him find you sleeping. 37What I say to you, I say to everyone: ‘Watch!’ ”

Observation

The disciples wanted to know when the things Jesus had described to them would happen.  But Jesus let them know that, the important thing is not when they will happen, but if you will be ready when they happen.

Application

“Keep your feet on the ground, and keep reaching for the stars.” – Casey Kasem

I wonder if Casey Kasem realized how similar his famous tag line which he used at the end of every American Top Forty show was to the words of Christ.

The disciples had pointed out the beauty of the temple buildings, and Jesus had made an incredible prediction of its destruction.  As with many of His sayings I think He spoke a dual meaning.  The temple was indeed destroyed in 70 A.D.; However I don’t think the destruction of the physical temple was the only thing Christ was teaching about that day.  

Wars and rumors of wars, nation against nation, many will come in My Name, earthquakes, famines, persecution of the Church, all these things Christ warned would come to pass within the generation of the last days before His coming to claim his Bride, the Church.  No one knows the exact time, so it is important to be ready at any time, because it may be today – it may be tonight, this may be your last opportunity before the trump sounds and Christ appears on the eastern horizon.

And even if Christ doesn’t come today, tonight, tomorrow, or this week, month, or year.  This may be Your personal final hour.  This could be your last day, your last opportunity to prepare your heart for eternity.  Don’t miss the chance that God has given you right now to get right with Him, to come to Him through Jesus his Son.  

Are you ready?  Have you kept your feet on the ground (on the solid foundation of The Rock, Jesus Christ our Lord) and are you reaching for the stars?  (Anxiously awaiting the second coming of Jesus)

 

Mark 13:37 What I say to you, I say to everyone: ‘Watch!’ “

A Sinners: Prayer

Heavenly Father, I have sinned against you.  I want forgivness for my sins.  I believe that Jesus died on the cross for me and rose again from the dead.  Father I give you my life to do with as you wish.  I want Jesus Christ to come into my life and into my heart.  This I ask in Jesus Name.  

Amen

Yieldedness

 I give up my desire to determine when He will return, and instead determine through God’s help to be ready always for that moment of His return.

Leave a Reply

