Go Jump in a Lake!


Scripture: Mark 11:

 22“Have[f] faith in God,” Jesus answered. 23“I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. 24Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. 25And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins.”[g]

Observation:

Faith and Forgiveness go hand in hand with each other, and are the recipe for living an abundant life.

Application:

I can remember my Great-Grandmother Maud telling me a story about an old woman who lived way up on top of a steep hill.  She had to walk everywhere she went and it was hard for her to make it up and down the hill.  So she prayed one night, “Dear Lord, I believe that you will get me off this hill, I know you can make this hill go away.”  When she woke the next morning she was still on top of the hill, she looked out her door, sighed and said, “I knew it wouldn’t work.”  

I think what my Grandmothers story was trying to teach was that many of us go through the motions of faith, but we don’t really possess a genuine faith.  We may pray, we may speak with our mouths, we may even think we believe.  But deep inside we’re like the old woman on the hill, and we had already prepared ourselves for the let down of our faith not being fulfilled.

Perhaps this is the cross Jesus told us that we must bear each day.  That we fully invest ourselves in trusting God to the point so that even when we’re not seeing the physical manifestation of our faith, we know that we have not been denied, and that it is only a matter of God’s timing until we see His will accomplished, and His promises kept.

We can not half heatedly walk by faith, faith is a full letting go of ourselves to trust in the Father.  I think this is further illustrated by what Jesus said directly after the faith statement about forgiveness.  If we are harboring any hatred in our hearts we can not say we have truly put our faith in God.  Holding something against someone else is really a lack in trust for Gods ability to heal us, and a desire on our part to sit in judgement of another. 

I believe that part of our journey to faith is finding the place where we let go of whatever we have against another, turn it over to our Heavenly Father and trust in Him to be able to bring us through that valley of darkness.  Only then can our hearts truly be prepared to receive the abundant life that Jesus came so that we might have.

Pray, Believe, Forgive – then tell that mountain of yours to Go Jump in a Lake!!!

Prayer:

Lord, I thank you for the wisdom of your scriptures.  Help me to forgive all those who I have ever held anything against.  Help me to truly love those people who are difficult for me to love and to believe and trust in you enough to get me over, off, around, or through those high hills that I must face in my life.

Love Michael

Yield:

I surrender all my hatred and pent up hostility toward any others in this world.  I don’t want it anymore.  I turn it over to You Lord Jesus!  I surrender my disbelief, and lack of faith, and ask your help in fully trusting in You!

Leave a Reply

