Out of the Frying Pan, and into the Fire!


Scripture  Mark 9:

49 Everyone will be salted with fire.

Observation 

When God decides we need some seasoning, we better be ready for some heat!

Application

Fire is often used in the Bible to represent the spirit of God.  Sometimes it is an embracing fire, and sometimes it is a fire of consuming judgment but it is always serious business.

When Jesus teaches his disciples that they will be salted with fire, I think he’s saying to them, and us, “Get ready for some difficult things to come your way.  You may feel that you can’t make it, you may feel like you’re going to be consumed, but hold on because I’m just getting rid of the parts that you don’t need in my service.  Im seasoning you, so that you will come out on the other end with more flavor, and fervor, and zeal.”

Prayer

Father help me through the difficulties of my seasoning.  Let me realize that the fire of your spirit is burning and purifying me into a more useful servant, and tool of your hand.

Love Michael 

Yieldedness

I yield my constant need for comfort, and gladly leap into the fire of God’s Spirit!

Leave a Reply

